Pumpkin Gobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I surely do not want to offend any person who has ever enjoyed this recipe, however my experience was a very negative one. The cake/ cookie part gave a way too much flower taste. The filling tasted like shortening (Crisco) the sugar in it was very crunchy even if we had used powered sugar the grease taste would still be there. To say the least I was totally disappointed. If I took this to my Church Social, I would be the first Presbyterian stoned to death in West Virginia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I don't mean to be harsh, but don't think the five star ratings I have read are accurate since the people posting used a different filling. The filling is really bad, very grainy and no flavor. I think using butter instead of shortening and powdered sugar would have made it ten times better. The cookie part was ok, but I have had better pumpkin cookies to. You are better off making a great pumpkin cookie recipe and filling it with a sweet cream cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
The cookies were wondeful. The filling, however, was awful. The sugar never dissolved into the shortening (even after beating for 10 minutes) so it had a grainy texture and not a lot of flavor. Perhaps powdered sugar might work better. I ended up using a cream cheese icing to fill these and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I have been searching for a good pumpkin whoopie pie recipe for awhile and this is the one!! Not overly sweet or spicy but so moist. Great color and texture, I love it! Good thing I doubled the recipe, these won't be lasting long!! I did, however, use a cream cheese frosting/filling instead of the one shown. This one will be hard to beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These are awesome, filled or not. I even made them healthier by subbing 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour for 3/4 cup of the a.p. flour. Great result. Used this filling recipe : 1/2 cup soft butter, 1 cup icing sugar, 1 cup marshmallow fluff (about half a jar), 1 tsp. vanilla. Beat with a mixer until light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Great! I too put chream cheese frosting between the gobs. They were eaten up in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These come out like a cross between a cookie and a cake. Not supper sweet, but when you add your icing/filling (I used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site as other suggested, it was PERFECT!) they are just YUMMY!!! I didn't like making sandwiches out of them because after the first bite, the filling is squeezing out all over your hands... So, I just frosted the tops! It worked much better for me! Great for Halloween or Thanksgiving. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
These are good, but really rely on the frosting to pull them off as the cookie is pretty plain. If you want extrodinary "woopie pie" use the Iced Pumpkin Cookies recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJRobinson71
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Ok! These were great! I made these for a youth lock-in at church on Fri. the 13th. Only one youth kid got any because when he tried them he took the whole plate of them and locked them in his truck. He shared one with our pastor's wife and daughter and they both said that they would buy them from me. I have to confess, I used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting for the filling (also from this site). My husband requested that I make them again so that he can try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These are great. My family and friends love them. They are just as good as a pumpkin roll but a whole lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States