Pumpkin Gobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
The gob part was easy to prepare. I tried making the filling and it tastes horrible. I also substituted the vanilla pudding by using vanilla pudding cups. What I did with the filling after making it according to the recipe was to add 2 more teaspoons of vanilla extract and 1 can of vanilla frosting. I blended well and that took off some of the taste from the shortening. I froze the leftover filling to use on a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
The cookie part of this recipe is really good but like many other users I agree that the filling is a bust. I'm making them again using either a cream cheese or marshmellow fluff type filling recipe. The granulated sugar never blends in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious gobs! My pennsylvania dutch husband loves them! I did skip the filling and replaced it with a cream cheese frosting. Makes moist, tender, fluffy gobs, that really could just be frosted cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Upon making these for the first time and not really reading the recipe thru i realized that there is a total of 5 cups of sugar, well i tried to figure out where it was all supposed to go, i didn't make the filling. I only used 2 cups of sugar in the cookie mixture, and the filling takes 1 1/2 cups so where is the other 1 1/2 cups suppose to go does any one know? On a brighter note these cookies were soo moist and delicious i will definatly make them again and i probably will add some extra spice like pumpkin pie spice for more flavor, i also made a glaze using powdered sugar and add the pumpkin pie spice to it and drizzled it over the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Love the cookie! The icing did not work out for me. It turned out too runny. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
These pumpkin whoopie pies were delicious and easy to make! Since I read the reviews before I made them I saw that the filling recipe for these is much healthier than cream cheese frosting so to make it less grainy I used confectioners sugar and margarine instead of white sugar and shortening. I also used a little more pudding than half a cup and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
As is, this recipe really is only so-so. The pumpkin cake/cookie part is very yummy, nice and soft and cakey. The filling, however, is pretty icky. The sugar and shortening never really blend, so it is grainy and crunchy, without much flavor. You are probably better off using a cream cheese frosting or something like that. So I'd say 4.5 stars for the cake part, 1 star for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I've made these using a different recipe and this is one matches it. The cookies are perfect but, here is a different recipe for the filling... 1 box 3oz instant vanilla pudding 1 cup milk 1 cup white sugar 1 cup shortening 1 tsp. vanilla Blend together until thick. *Note* I use sugar free instant vanilla pudding because the cookies are already sweet, plus the shortening and sugar, it tones it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This should ONLY get a 5 star if you use cream cheese frosting for the middle. The original frosting written for this recipe is not good at all and I can see why this wouldn't get a good rating. The cookie part is EXCELLENT! I've been making this recipe (w/ cream cheese frosting in the middle) for quite some time now and everybody loves them and it's always the first dessert gobbled up when I bring these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States