Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe is wonderful, and produces TWO loaves, which is great because all one's friends will want in on it. My friend mis-heard me one time when I mentioned it, so now I call this stuff "Pumpkin Ninja Bread," which is pretty appropriate. The only change I've made has been that every time I make this recipe I keep reducing the sugar. I'm down to 2.5 cups and have not noticed any change in flavor, and I think even less sugar could be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I didn't have cloves so left that out -- excellent anyway. I added some chocolate chips to one loaf --that one was a hit with my son. But I prefer the loaf with out chocolate chips -- the ginger stands out more without the distraction of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
YUM! I made this yesterday and my boyfriend and I have been devouring it. The only changes I made were: to cut the recipe in half, so there is only one loaf. Also, prior to baking, I diced some fresh ginger that had been used to make tea, and caramelized it in some of the leftover tea with sugar. I then topped the bread with the little bits of ginger. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made this for people at work and my family. Everyone really liked it and it was very moist! This bread is perfect for gift giving because the recipe makes 2 loaves. I didn't change anything with the recipe and would not post if I did because then you are not reviewing or rating the recipe as it is intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Moist!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This has become a family favorite! The only thing that I change is add less salt as I find it salty at times with a 1 1/2 tsp salt. I add one tsp and that's fine. Brilliant Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Awesome! I followed the recipe exact (I did make one regular size loaf and a pan of mini loaves). Fantastic! Moist and flavorful. So far everyone loves it! Update: I've made this recipe several times and it's always a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Breitlauch

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I have NEVER liked Pumpkin Bread. Made this recipe to give as thank you gifts. I sampled it just to make sure it wasn't too dry, flavors right, etc. HOLY COW, THIS WAS FANTASTIC! It was hard to give these away, I will definitely be making another batch and will make for years to come! Thanks, this changed my perspective on Pumpkin! My oven runs a little hot so I kicked my temp down to 325 and since I was making mini loaves, (as someone else suggested) I cooked these for 45 min and they did make 7 minis. If you do make minis, Make sure you rotate front to back half way through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now with fabulous results. I read the reviews and cut the sugar slightly with 1 1/2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown. I didn't have enough oil so did 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup melted butter. I also upped the spices with a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice - love that stuff! Ice it with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site. Makes a wonderful Christmas gift with bits of candied ginger sprinkled on the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is fantastic! I made the recipe exactly as stated. It made enough for 16 mini loaves (baked for only 25 minutes) that were given away as part of Christmas baskets. Made the whole house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 942) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States