Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is delicious! I always read a number of the reviews before I try a new recipe, to see how others may have tweaked it to get it to the next level, so, this is what I did differently: I used 2 cups of sugar. I baked a 9 x 7 loaf at 325 for about 80 - 90 minutes and it came out perfectly, as did the 3 smaller ones baked for about 40 - 50 minutes. I followed the rest of the recipe, but I think the amount of spices could easily be increased by maybe 50%. Just a great way to start off the fall. I plan on using this recipe again - soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was an amazing recipe! I made it for work and everyone raved about it!! They all wanted the recipe :). AMAZING! And super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
9/15/2014 - Made this today with some changes as recommended by others. Baked at 325 instead of 350. I decreased sugar to 1 3/4 cups using half dark brown and half white. I replaced half of the oil with cinnamon applesauce and used olive oil for the other half. I also increased spices by about half and added some freshly grated nutmeg. Cooled to handle and wrapped while still slightly warm. Beautifully moist and intensely spiced and absolutely delicious. Thanks for recipe and suggestions for changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I discovered this recipe last year and made it multiple times. Success and raves with each loaf. It also freezes well when wrapped appropriately. It is currently mid-September and this recipe is most welcomed! Thank-you for its submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Yes so good, but the 2nd time I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white instead of two white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
What a yummy recipe! My son and I made this together. He normally doesn't like anything pumpkin, yet loved this bread! We even freshly ground some cinnamon, allspice, and cloves. We also cut back on the sugar to 1 cup sugar and 1 1/2 cups Splenda and couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe almost as listed with the exception i made a 1/2 batch and muffins instead of loaves. As a pumpkin bread alone I think this is a good recipe. However, I did not think it was the mix of gingerbread and pumpkin I was wanting. The muffins came out nice and moist/fluffy. They did have a good taste. I would make these again and maybe next time add more ginger as some of the other reviewers stated. On another note, I did not find them too sweet as other reviewers have stated. *Edit* I came out with 17 regular sized muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very moist and very simple. I used whole wheat flour and fresh, frozen pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
it was so Delicious with a capital D! it tasted like she turned pumpkin pie in to a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lometa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
My family and friends love this cake and are always asking me when I'm going to make it again. I replace the water with Guinness for a little extra richness and dust the top with powered sugar. Also bake it in a bundt pan (70-75 minutes) for larger parties or in mini-loaf pans for gift giving (about 35 minutes). We often have fresh pumpkin available so I use that instead of canned pumpkin for a wonderful texture. Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 981) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States