Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Added pecans - and just made one loaf. Great flavor & moist! I was hesitant to let it bake a full hour - so I started monitoring at 45 min - but true enough it took just over an hour with me opening up and baking other cookies - for the toothpick to come out clean. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anji Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
So my baby was crying as I was adding the spices, so I ended up rushing and not following the recipe as closely as I otherwise would have. I Added two teaspoons of cinnamon, and I thought it called for pumpkin pie spice instead of allspice. Otherwise I followed this exactly and it smells as good as it tastes! I did have a longer cooking time since I baked both loaves at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This bread is yummy! I did as others suggested and turned the oven down to 325. I also cut the sugar down from 3 cups to 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce as well and doubled the ginger, allspice, and cinnamon. I used 1 3/4 fresh pumpkin puree instead of canned. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The bread came out near perfect. I thought it could have used a crunch such as nuts or raisins added to it, or a sprinkle of sugar on top during the baking process. Cooked it at 325 for 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Perfectly balanced with spice and texture. Very tasty and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeachyKeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
First I want to say that if you change the recipe but give it 5 stars you are not accurately rating this recipe. You are rating your own, so put your own recipe on this site for other reviewers to pick apart and rate based on their changes. Ok, this recipe was absolutely perfect. I made as written with no changes and my whole family loved it. I think if I had added more spices as other reviewers did it would have overwhelmed the pumpkin flavor. This was moist and delicious and perfectly spiced. Thank you for this recipe. This is now a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunshine Griffin Duffy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Great recipe! Made whole house smell lovely. I made the following changes: used coconut oil in lieu of veggie oil; used 1 tbsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of 1 tsp each cinnamon, cloves, and all spice; used 2c wheat flour and 1 1/2c white all purpose; divided sugar into 1c coconut palm sugar, 1c brown sugar, 1c raw sugar. Used pumpkin seed, b sugar, and butter as a crumble on top. Recipe made 3 dozen small muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very moist and flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Yum! Moist, spicy, easy to prepare. Works beautifully in a bundt pan. I substituted coconut oil, and cut back the sugar to 2 cups per others' suggestions. I used half coconut sugar as well, which seemed to add a depth to the gingerbread. Next time I may cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, cause it's still plenty sweet. Oh, and I did bake at 325 for 1 1/2 hours. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Substituted apple sauce for oil, only used 1 cup of brown sugar, used 1.5 cups of ground oatmeal, 1 cup of almond flour and 1 cup of all-purpose flour rather than 3.5 of all-purpose. Cooked batter in muffin tins and they turned out great! Cooked muffins for about 25 minutes, but be careful not to overcook or they will be fairly dry. Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 984) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States