Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I love love this recipe!! Super flavorful and moist. This makes a double batch and perfect to store one in the freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
delicious but I cut the sugar back by 1 cup and may even cut it back further... the spices and pumpkin are sweet enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Excellent Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made the mini loaves for friends for Christmas. I added cran-raisons and pecans and candied ginger to the batter. Yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I love this recipe; it is so easy and bread.is delicious. Family and friends rave about it. The one change I make is I use only 1/3 cup of water and add 1/3 cup of molasses instead of 2/3 cups of water. I use 9×5 pans but I need to bake it for approximately 1 hour and 20-25 minutes at 350°. The bread is never hard or dry or burnt on the top or sides and always completely baked inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is very good, though I would recommend adding some molasses because the gingerbread flavor is overpowered by the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Created 3 medium loaves. Froze one for later. Was the hit of the thanksgiving dessert. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was our first "pumpkin gingerbread" and we loved it! It's sweet and spicy, it smells delicious and tastes even better. It's fantastic with a cold glass of milk or a mug of hot coffee. We halved the recipe, since I wasn't sure if we would like this. Instead of pumpkin, I used a roasted sweet potato (when mashed it was just shy of one cup). We also used 1 1 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of bread flour, instead of just all-purpose. AND we substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for the oil. Ok, so we made some changes- it's a very forgiving recipe. We loved it. We will definitely be baking it again. We didn't add any frosting or topping, it didn't need it. It's sweet enough on it's own. I may cut back on the sugar slightly next time. Although, it is really good as is. Thank you Frosty for a delicious recipe that my little 4 1/2 year olds and I enjoyed immensely. UPDATE: We have baked this bread SIX times already! My kidabunks keep devouring it. It's a great Kids in the Kitchen recipe. We did cut back on the sugar to one cup (for a half-recipe) and used two tablespoons of orange juice as part of the water. It was still plenty sweet. We have one more sweet potato and only two tiny slices of Pumpkin Gingerbread, I know what we'll be baking today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Wonderful Ginger Pumpkin Bread. I did substitute 1/2 applesauce for 1/2 of the oil (everything else was as written except I sifted all the dry ingredients in with the flour) and I will try all applesauce to save even more on fat and calories next time. The bread got rave reviews from the family on Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I'm vegan, so I replaced the eggs with EnerG egg replacer - huge hit at my family's Christmas Eve party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 979) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States