Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I loved these. I followed the recipe, minus the crystalized ginger. Still VERY good! Moist, delicious cupcakes with the taste of the season in them. I made a simple cream cheese frosting with 4oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon. What a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
478 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Just wanted to say you can certainly replace some butter with extra pumkin or applesauce, and the taste is still really great. ***** Update - some people have commented on the difficulty of finding crystalized ginger. It's the same as candied ginger, sugared ginger, or ginger chips - they are all just different names/sizes. The two best places I can always find it, and really inexpensively, are Publix, in the bulk items ($5 a pound) and World Market - $3 for a jar or the ginger chips by the Ginger People (they sell them on their website, too, but they are a little more$). ***** If you are getting more of a muffin than a cupcake, you're not creaming your sugar and butter long enough. It should be really fluffy. You'll probably want to scoop the batter into the tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
429 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I set out a pkg. of cream cheese to soften while the cupcakes cooled. We decided to try a couple while we waited. They were so good and moist, I put the cream cheese back in the fridge. I'll use it for something that can actually be improved by frosting it. The best cupcake I've ever tasted! (Maybe a light dusting of powdered sugar for those who want to dress them up visually, but as far as flavor goes, they're perfect.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pathos57
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
THIS is one of the most perfect cupcakes I have ever had. They are moist, flavorful & perfectly spiced. I chose not to use the chopped crystalized ginger, but used 1 1/4 tsp. ginger (total) instead. Creaming the butter & sugar until lighter colored & using room temperature eggs is essential. For the frosting, I chose the Cream Cheese II recipe on this site. I piped the frosting on top of each cake in a swirl pattern. Glazed Walnut garnish: As a garnish, I placed 1/4 cup sugar & 1/4 tsp. salt in a heavy bottom saucepan. I stiirred this over medium heat until the sugar began to melt and then added 2 cups of walnuts. I continued stirring until the sugar was melted and turned a golden brown. Carefully pour the glazed walnuts onto waxed paper - use a spoon or spatula to separate the nuts. Be careful! Hot sugar is PAINFUL. You'll have a nice snack of glazed walnuts left over after you decorate the cupcakes. This delicious optional garnish provides a nice crunch on these absolutely fabulous gems. This Thanksgiving, I think I'll be making these cupcakes instead of pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Wow, these cupcakes are outrageously delicious. I made a couple of modifications: (1) instead of using 1 cup butter, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce; and (2) I only used 3 large eggs, not 4. Also, usually when I bake cupcakes, I lightly spray the inside of the foil with vegetable oil so the cupcakes don't stick too much to the wrapper. Baked them for twenty minutes. I used a vanilla frosting and then decorated them with Halloween themed sprinkles. I think these would be perfect for a holiday party. They are scrumptious - so moist! Thank you for the recipe. I will also make them around Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Just as a warning, the mixture had tons of tiny flecks of butter-sugar no matter if you use room temperature eggs or cold ones. Go on and add the dry ingredients and the lumps will disappear. I left out the crystallized ginger (couldn't find it), so upped the ginger to 1/2 tablespoon. The first time I made this recipe, I baked it in a bundt pan for about 45 minutes, then frosted it with tinted store bought cream cheese frosting to look like a pumpkin- covered an ice cream cone in green frosting for the stem. The cake turned out really, really well- so moist and with great flavor and really cute. The second time I actually made it into cupcakes! I frosted the cupcakes with cream cheese frosting made by beating together 8 oz softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup softened salted butter, 3 1/2-4 cups powdered sugar, and 1/2 tablespoon butter flavoring. I know the butter flavoring sounds bizarre, but it somehow mellows out and brings the other flavors together. The wonderful frosting on the fantastic cupcakes made these some of the best cupcakes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
If I could give this more stars I would!!! It's AMAZING!!! I was out of crystallized ginger so I used 1 1/4 tsp. of ground ginger instead, but didn't change one other thing! Moist, delicious and my family gobbled them up! I also used the "Cream Cheese Frosting II" with this...it's also quite amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These are fantastic!! I didn't have any butterscotch pudding so I used vanilla but other than that I followed the recipe as written. Everybody LOVED them! My stepdaughter even said they were better than the ones they sell in the coffee shop where she works!! I frosted them with the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site (which is also fantastic) and decorated them as eyeballs for Halloween. A huge, huge hit! These are definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this as a cake, and it came out unbelievably moist. I used a mix of unbleached and oat flour, and I used fresh pumpkin, which I baked and then pureed with the wet ingredients. The market was out of crystallized ginger, so I used fresh. This is so moist and delicious, it doesn't even need frosting, but I'm sure it would be great topped with whipped cream--just like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I tasted the batter before I baked these and my first impression was that I would be leaving a 5-star review. The flavor is great - tastes just like pumpkin pie! The cupcakes baked up nicely too. But... first of all, the yield is off - this recipe makes more than 24 cupcakes, so plan ahead. Second, 20 minutes is not enough cooking time. Plan on about five minutes longer. Last, and most important, while the flavor is wonderful, in large part because of the peppery, crystallized ginger, the texture is a little "gummy,' for lack of a better word. A little TOO moist, maybe, and even a little too sweet - I suspect the pudding mix is the culprit. I'm sure this recipe, minus the pudding mix, would produce a far better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States