Pumpkin Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I loved these funnels cakes as a fun way to use up some leftover pumpkin. They are quick to make and taste fantastic! I used a squirt bottle in lieu of a funnel and had to snip the nozzle a bit more to make a wider opening for the batter to come out to the consistency I wanted. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing, LINDA MCLEAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was an ok recipe. It seemed to lack flavor though. It needed more pumpkin and more spice. It was too close to a plain funnel cake. Also they were very greasy and you had to eat them immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe as is, tasted the batter, and found it didn't taste very sweet. So I added a few more Tbsp of Brown sugar. Still wasn't very sweet as is, but by the time we added the powdered sugar and some whipped cream, my sweet tooth got its fix. This fried up beautifully. I used the cut corner of a bag method, because the batter is so thick it doesn't pour through the funnel for a continuous flow. But I can squeeze it out the bag in a continuous stream, and it turned out great. They friend up easily, tasted great and no one was disappointed. not as good as leftovers for breakfast this morning, but still yummy. Thanks for the recipe. It was a fun pumpkin variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is definitely a keeper!! I live in PA Dutch area and have had MANY different funnel cakes. This recipe is far from bland!! Has a great balance of flavors and puffs up perfect!! LOVE IT!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe was great. I made them at our halloween party. They MUST be made to order. If you eat them as soon as they come out of the fryer they are fluffy and the perfect texture you would expect from a funnel cake. I dusted them with powdered sugar just like they do at the fair. I however being so busy didn't get to eat mine right away and while it had time to sit it became thick and very cake like as other posters had mentioned. My advice MAKE TO ORDER, eat fresh from the fryer! who can resist anyway. They were a hit at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paskalini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I think this was simply a matter of getting the oil the right temp.....The recipe made about three cakes, but only one came out just right. Pretty subtle pumpkin flavor, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Gosh these were good! I dropped them by spoonfulls, trying to make a ball, and used them for our Halloween Party and called them Boo Balls (Ghost Testicles) They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly, except I made my own pumpkin pie spice (a little extra cinnamon, scant 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp ginger, some fresh grated nutmeg). I couldn't get it to come out of my funnel. I resorted to the sandwich bag method, which was messy but worked, except I think I made the hole too big. In spots the funnel cake was too thick, and it didn't cook all the way through. All in all a messy but delicious recipe. Worth the mess! Somewhere between funnel cake and pumpkin pancakes. Whip cream or real maple syrup would have been amazing on it. Rave reviews from my boyfriend and my neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
The batter tasted really good. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I used 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I tried using a funnel to drizzle the batter but it was just coming out really slowly in little blobs. I added milk to try to get it to come out faster. Do NOT do this. It made the batter flat and not light and airy. I think in order to make it come out easier next time I will just squeeze it through a bag. Either that or settle for little blobs instead of a nice pretty circle cake. Because they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
YUM! My family loved this! It was just like what we had at the Harvest Festival! Thank you for a new family treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States