Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious!!! I made the recipe exactly as stated and my fudge came out perfect. I cooled my fudge before all the white chocolate chips melted so I had some chunks here and there. YUM! I will be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I have been making all types of fudge for over 20 years, so I thought this one would be good, since we love pumpkin pie. I have NEVER had a fudge not set up completely, until now. It did NOT set up at all, even though we followed the recipe exactly. We boiled for 18 minutes, and my son even mentioned that it looked like caramel, when it was completely finished. It's gooey, but not fudge. It's a pumpkin caramel, completely stuck to the foil. If the taste were spectacular, we might try it again, but it isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Bell
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I like this recipe. Thank you all for the tips you have given. The candy thermometer is a definite must if you have never made any type of candy before. It will give you confidence that you are doing it right. Mine had to cook for a little over 20 minutes to reach the right consistency. I lined a 7x7 pan with foil and gave it a light coat of cooking spray and it worked like a charm. Some people said to add extra white choc chips, but I say it makes it too sweet...stick with 1 cup. Also, I love the suggestion of 1/2 tspn cinnamon and 1/2 tspn pumpkin pie spice, it gave it perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bell
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was really yummy. I added nutmeg and cloves and an extra dollop of pumpkin ( i used a large can for a few recipes and didn't want to waste any pumpkin) the extra pumpkin made me need extra time for the fudge to set, about a day and a half. i might try making some of this fudge into balls and coating with white or dark chocolate for an extra decadent treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I have made this fudge a dozen times and, if I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. The only time it didn't turn out is when I tried to refrigerate it before it was cooled and set. It will turn out like carmel if you try to get it to set in the fridge. I agree with other reviews that it takes longer than the directions to reach the soft ball temp. You do have to stir constantly to keep it from scorching. Everytime I have made it, people devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
The flavor is nice but mine came out a little hard, like a bar of candy that's been in the fridge. Not soft and melt in your mouth kind of fudge. Not sure if that was the result I was supposed to get or not. But still a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I've never made fudge before - tried this even after reading some of the scary reviews. Mine turned out perfect. I do have to say - those whose got like carmel possibly put in the fridge - I made a double batch and put one container in the fridge. It never set - just got like carmel. The batch I let set on the counter top turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was very good and easy to make. My only complaint is that I taste more sugar than pumpkin, so I think next time I will up the canned pumpkin to 1 cup and add a little pumpkin seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was worried about this recipe with so many people rating it only 1 star. If I had followed the directions exactly it would not have turned out at all. I used a candy thermometer and to get to the right temp, it took closer to 25 min of boiling. I couldn't believe that the chocolate chips didn't melt all the way. Next time I may have them partially melted before hand. Because I had to mix the chips in so long, I think perhaps the fudge wasn't as smooth as it could have been. I will try this again. Not a difficult recipe, but I had to tweak it just a bit. NOTE: I tried these again and the results were just as bad. Hard, crumbly fudge. I tried melting the chocolate chips ahead of time, but I was still left with bits of chocolate I could not mix in. Very frustrating! For those of you who made this without a problem, that's great, but it IS a fact that you can follow the recipe exactly and still end up with bad results. It is not a given that a mistake was made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
From what the other reviewers are saying, guess I didn't cook long enough. I did exactly what the recipe said, it's been in the fridge for 12 hours now and it still hasn't set up. I will most definitely use it for something, since it's consistency is like caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angesantoro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States