Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly step by step, exact measurements, exact times etc. despite my better judgement because it seemed like an awful long time to cook sugar products, and sure enough it was. I didn't even end up with sticky goo, as soon as I put the chips in it made a hellacious sizzling noise and as I started mixing them in it crystallized what had been cooked. I'd suggest people use their judgement on the cooking times, not the recipes times. It isn't always user error like some would like to claim just because theirs came out fine. Some stoves may burn hotter than others and different brands of the ingredients could make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
PERFECT!! Very easy recipe and really nice pumpkin flavor -- everyone loved it!! One lady at the picnic came up to me and said, "Thank you for giving me the opportunity to try your pumpkin fudge!" LOL Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
The flavor of this fudge was excellent, but it was the texture that I didn't care for. The cook time was entirely too long. As soon as I poured the fudge into the pan, it began to set, and it set so hard that when I'd cut into it, pieces would crumble. Eighteen minutes of a rolling boil is excessive and brings the temperature up way higher than 234, where it should be. I would be willing to try this recipe again with cooking adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very good, not so sugar sweet like most fudge. Used super chunky peanut butter because I prefer nuts in my fudge. Also added a tsp of almond extract and drizzled melted chocolate on top. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe to the T, even used a candy thermometer as the print version in the magazine suggested. I ended up with something between soft-ball taffy and fudge. Too sticky to roll into taffy and wrap in waxed paper or parchment, after being cut, it re-melts back into a blobby mess. I'm going to try heating it enough to reuse it on some "turtle bars."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catholic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Mine came out soft and stuck to the tin foil and these ingredients are not cheap! It should have been specific on temperature and what to do, it makes fudge loom too simple when there are so e intricate steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My whole family liked this fudge. My 2 year old keeps asking me to make her some more. It was gone within a few days with 4 of us eating on it. I think I'll make it for Christmas as well. It has that creamy pumpkin flavor that you get with some pumpkin pies. It's a great alternative to chocolate. I made this following the directions exactly as written, and it turned out wonderful! I had no trouble with the fudge sticking to the foil or being too sticky. I will definitely make this again & again...&again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
First time making fudge ever and this turned out great! My fudge boiled well before the soft ball stage on my thermometer (boiled at around 225) so I went with the instructions. I found this to be almost painfully sweet, but I don't normally eat fudge. The pumpkin flavor is awesome, and I might add more cinnamon next time. It helped to have everything measured out and ready to pour. Next time I will stir everything before even adding to the pot, or use a whisk. It also took longer than expected to get the white chocolate to melt. I sprayed the foil and the fudge came out easily. Overall a great recipe for a first attempt at a new method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The direction to "Bring to a rolling boil. Cook, stirring occasionally, for 18 minutes."????Holy Cow. Made the candy brick hard. Did she/he mean "8 minutes"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Amazing. Did it with bittersweet dark because I didn't have any white chocolate. Also made evaporated milk with almond milk and it came out perfect and a little healthier. !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States