Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time and got the gooey stuff some of you were talking about. I went to a website that discussed how to fix fudge. Apparently I didn't get the mixture to the right temp during the rolling boil stage. The website suggested I put the gooey stuff back in the saucepan with a little evaporated milk and get a candy thermometer to a temp of 230 degrees. I immediately saw the difference the second time. Once I reached this temp I added a little powdered sugar, pumpkin spice, and wow! It began to set once I put it in the pan. Skipped the foil and lightly sprayed a pan like you all suggested. I wasnt going to give in because the gooey stuff tasted so good. Hope this helps, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Salcido

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
If there was a rating higher than five stars I would give it. Amazing!!! I do like to substitute pumpkin pie spice for half the cinnamon but that's just personal preference. I could eat the whole pan myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Fantastic flavors, just started trying to make fudge and had some success and some horrible failures. This recipe is foolproof and easy to make if you stick to the directions. Everything went according to the directions and fudge set perfect. Great pumpkin taste and texture. Will try adding some pumpkin pie spice or nutmeg next time for a little more complexity in the flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic50
Home Town: Fombell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly step by step, exact measurements, exact times etc. despite my better judgement because it seemed like an awful long time to cook sugar products, and sure enough it was. I'd suggest people use their judgement on the cooking times, not the recipes times. It isn't always user error like some would like to claim just because theirs came out fine. Some stoves may burn hotter than others and different brands of the ingredients could make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
PERFECT!! Very easy recipe and really nice pumpkin flavor -- everyone loved it!! One lady at the picnic came up to me and said, "Thank you for giving me the opportunity to try your pumpkin fudge!" LOL Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
The flavor of this fudge was excellent, but it was the texture that I didn't care for. The cook time was entirely too long. As soon as I poured the fudge into the pan, it began to set, and it set so hard that when I'd cut into it, pieces would crumble. Eighteen minutes of a rolling boil is excessive and brings the temperature up way higher than 234, where it should be. I would be willing to try this recipe again with cooking adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very good, not so sugar sweet like most fudge. Used super chunky peanut butter because I prefer nuts in my fudge. Also added a tsp of almond extract and drizzled melted chocolate on top. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe to the T, even used a candy thermometer as the print version in the magazine suggested. I ended up with something between soft-ball taffy and fudge. Too sticky to roll into taffy and wrap in waxed paper or parchment, after being cut, it re-melts back into a blobby mess. I'm going to try heating it enough to reuse it on some "turtle bars."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catholic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Mine came out soft and stuck to the tin foil and these ingredients are not cheap! It should have been specific on temperature and what to do, it makes fudge loom too simple when there are so e intricate steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My whole family liked this fudge. My 2 year old keeps asking me to make her some more. It was gone within a few days with 4 of us eating on it. I think I'll make it for Christmas as well. It has that creamy pumpkin flavor that you get with some pumpkin pies. It's a great alternative to chocolate. I made this following the directions exactly as written, and it turned out wonderful! I had no trouble with the fudge sticking to the foil or being too sticky. I will definitely make this again & again...&again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States