Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I'm horrible at making fudge and this turned out perfect!!! It's pretty much fool proof so if you're trying to learn, this is a great start. I used the pumpkin spice the second time and it was just as good, better for me personally based on my taste. If you messed up somehow go through directions and FOLLOW them! Thanks for the recipe!!! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
DO NOT wait until the end to add the vanilla!!! I think that's why people are having trouble with this recipe. Add it in the beginning with the milk and sugar and it should be alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
When making candy like fudge, the boiling time is less important than the temperature achieved during the boiling. This recipe should be edited to tell cooks that the temperature needs to reach 230F, also known as the soft ball stage in candymaking. Depending on altitude, this will be in 18-25 minutes. I consider this a major shortcoming in this recipe and downgraded accordingly. Frankly, since all posted recipes are juried, I would have expected the editors to catch this error and correct it. Without this direction, many cooks will end up wasting a whole pan of expensive ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I just made this recipe today and it turned out wonderfully. I love how the pumpkin flavor is front and center--it's the perfect treat as we transition into fall. This was my absolute first time attempting to make any sort of fudge (or any sort of candy for that matter), but I just followed the directions (without using a thermometer as others have suggested) and it turned out perfectly. It really is as simple as bringing it to a rolling boil and leaving it there for 18 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
When I read this recipe I thought well why not! It was either going to be really gross or to die for. I am happy to report that this pumpkin fudge is to die for! Literally everyone that tries it raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Hines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I can't keep enough of it in the house during the holidays. It is the simplest recipe for fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made over 150 batches of fudge in my lifetime because my mom prohibited candy in the house, so I learned to make my own. What I've learned is 1) cook fudge too long, and it becomes like cement 2) cook fudge too little, and you get toffee. I followed the directions for this recipe, and I used a candy thermometer, a timer, and a cold cup of water to test the cooking time. Drop the mixture into the cold cup of water to test to see if it makes a soft ball. I panicked, though, when the timer went off at 18 minutes but the thermometer wasn't at soft ball stage yet, so I let it cook another 4 minutes. It was probably fine at 19 minutes because a drop in the cold water made a soft ball. Make sure to stir every 30 seconds to a minute so it doesn't burn on the bottom. I've never made fudge that instructed me to put the marshmellow cream in the pan while it was boiling, but I followed the directions, and it was ok. I also waited a bit before spooning it into the pan because it was still runny. The result: a good batch of pumpkin flavored fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I love anything with pumpkin. Just follow the directions and you won't have any problem! I added a little clove and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
After reading all the reviews, I chose to make this using the directions for Easy Fantasy Fudge (from the marshmallow creme jar). Basically, the change involved adding the pumpkin and spices, boiling to 234 degrees, then stirring in the marshmallow creme and white chocolate chips. Sadly, this tastes mostly of white chocolate, which I am NOT a fan of. Hubby liked it, though. If you want to have it come easily out of your pan, use the release-type foil. It's a little expensive, but WAY better than picking bits of foil out of your candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States