Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
This is a great recipe, but it is important to carefully follow the directions. It is especially important to boil the mixture until your candy thermometer registers 232 F or the mixture will not get thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
My mother, who is a fudge fanatic, absolutely adores this!! Highly recommened for any pumpkin enthusiast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
This was a really good recipe for something different and pumpkin. I enjoyed impressing my co-workers and family with this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
This needs LOTS of stirring--stir until it has no hint of gloss, not until it begins to lose its gloss. The taste is great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
Something really different. My husband,who doesn't care for fudge, really enjoyed this. We added 1 cup of nuts instead but still would of preferred more. Thank you for a new treat as part of our Thanksgiving dinner. And will be part of our Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
on our honeymoon 3 years ago in tennessee, we had the most wonderful pumpkin pie fudge! i have been unable to duplicate it until now! this is the yummiest recipe, it is not that hard to make, but you definitely need the thermometer.. i heated it to 250 by accident and it still turned out wonderful... the first i stirred it as it was simmering by accident and it turned all grainy and wouldn;t harden.. so do make sure you follow the recipe... ;)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This is Bryson City pumpkin fudge for those who have been to Bryson City, NC and loved the pumpkin fudge from the general store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
It took SIX batches to finally get this recipe to turn out right for me. You have to be EXACT!!! It carmelized on me twice, didn't set for me twice and turned into granules, pebble like, once. But, after finally getting it right, it was DELICIOUS. Two hints that I think helped me are #1- you may not necessarily get the exact temperature on your candy thermometer, but if your mixture turns into a soft ball when dropped in cold water it's ready & #2- when you add the last ingredients, the butter, etc...add them into the pan that you cooked the 1st ingredients. Whatever you do, DON'T remove your mixture out of the saucepan into a different bowl w/ the butter. I think that by doing that I cooled the mixture way too fast & I turned it into rocks. All in all, this experience for me was the first time I ever made fudge & if it is for you too, then have enough ingredients to make a few batches. I can't tell you how many trips I made to Albertson's that night trying to get it right. But, it was well worth it, the fudge is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I absolutely loved this recipe, as did the other 12 people I made it for. This was my first time making fudge, and it came out perfect. I didn't even have a candy thermometer! I only wish I made another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
Don't try this without a candy thermometer! I am usually a pretty good judge of temperature, but I could never get this fudge to set. And my stirring arm is sore today! It looked lovely, but it was never anything more than blobs of sugary orange goo. Also, from what I tasted, it was rather bland, and could use more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States