Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
The recipe turned out very well. One tip I have learned about making candy is to put the saucepan in a cast iron skillet over the burner while boiling and cooking the candy. Another tip is NOT stirring after the butter ,spices and vanilla extract are added until the mixture has cooled to 110 degrees farenheit.I find a candy thermometer to be essential in making candy. As other reviewers noted, the fudge takes a long time to reach the 232 degrees farenheit and to cool, but be patient. I had absolutely no problems with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
great recipe, Ever one loved it and even though i messed up the stirring just a smidge, it sucked the moisture out of the air and was the best fudge i ever had =D... i am planning on useing cream this time =) instead of watter and plan to repost my findings. if you ever figure out pumpkin fudge you should post that as well... =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I haven't made fudge since making it with my Dad like 30 years ago (he was the fudge king!) But I thought I would try this, it turned out perfect! Follow the recipe exactly and then when it's time to beat it, the more the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
ugg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
i'm pretty good if I do say but this was the worse recipe I had ever tried it would not set up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
As others have stated you make fudge on a fudge day. You also need to know your pan and utensils. If you make candy often it is worth the investment in a pot that will give you great results. I use a very heavy bottomed pot a metal spoon that is kept in hot water, so that it does not chill the pot when you stir. A cold breeze, a fan, washing dishes, all these will affect your candy. When you cool the fudge leave it on the stove where it is warm so that it cools very slowly. If you don't have the room, stick it in your oven or microwave where no cool breezes can reach it. If you have sugar grains on the side remove with a damp cloth or paper towel. They will gather more sugar granules if left, or if added to mix, will stay grainy. Candy takes practice, so practice and enjoy the rewards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very good. Nice alternitive to chocolate fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This has to be the best Pumpkin Fudge I have ever tasted! It was very creamy and smooth. I put the batch I made out for Thanksgiving and it was gone in no time. I looked at the other reviews and didn't scrape the bottom of the pan as suggested and followed the directions when it said not to stir and it came out perfect on the first batch! I also didn't have a candy thermometer so I tested it the old fashioned way with a cup of cold water and it came out fine. I suggest you read some of the other successful reviews for some extra advice. Hope this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrawberryShortcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Baked the pumpkin this year, so I needed some entertaining things to do with all of it and this was one of them. It turned out terrible, a big mess of (tasty) pumpkin goo, so I took the advice of another reviewer. I patiently poured it all back into the pan and this time heated to 239 instead of 232. I read elsewhere that soft ball stage is 235-240, so I think that by going to exactly 232 I missed it (even though I thought I saw a soft ball in water). On the reheat I was also careful to brush the sides of the pan with water. I had a thick bottomed tri-ply stainless pan, so I didn't have any burning problems at all *phew!* Yum! Keeping this one in the recipe box for sure. Simple, but time consuming. Oh, and I didn't have any light corn syrup so I left it out entirely, figuring the sugar would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
They haven't quite set up yet but I tried the fudge left in the mixer bowl and it's really tasty!! If you follow the recipe it should turn out well for you. I took the advice of Baricat and mine didn't turn out very gritty, but as mentioned they aren't the smoothest consistency like you expect fudge to be. I definitely recommend using a candy thermometer. My poor little digital read meat thermometer was somewhat useless because the heat affected the display so much. I didn't have the spices called for on hand so I used allspice and cinnamon and that worked fine for me. It really looks and smells like pumpkin pie! Not giving this five stars ONLY because of the gritty texture. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States