Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This turned out absolutely perfect consistency-wise. After looking at other reviews, I took the temp up to 235 and just added in the butter, etc., but did not stir until it had cooled to 110. Instead of milk I used rice milk, and for the walnuts used half regular and half black. It is incredibly sweet candy, so small portions for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
It is a bit sweet, but still really yummy! I thought it was perfect for Thanksgiving, and it hits that pumpkin craving that strikes this time of year. I am NOT a baker, nor have I ever made candy before. In fact, I had to buy a candy thermometer just for this. However, I followed the recipe EXACTLY as it is written, and it turned out really well, and was the consistency I expected of fudge. It does take at least 20 minutes to get to that soft ball temp. Although a bit time-consuming, it was actually pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I followed this recipe to a "T." Everything went beautifully. However, I won't use this recipe again... I'm not even sure I'll eat the batch I made, so I'm sad for the waste of my beautiful homemade pumpkin puree. :( I didn't care for the texture or the taste of this fudge, so I guess I'll continue my search for the perfect pumpkin fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very fun and yummy version of fudge! Wish it had more pumpkin flavor. I didn't have a candy thermometer so I used the drop in cold water method. It worked great. Can take over 20 minutes to get to the right temp. I let the mixture sit in the pan for 10 minutes before I added the butter and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Good recipe. It came together quickly and easily. This was the first time I've made fudge, and will be trying some others in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Use a candy thermometer - and your fudge will turn out great! Sugar is very temperamental, so if the temp isn't right it will change the crystalline structure. It takes a bit for it to reach the temp needed - because all the water has to boil off first (so it'll sit at 100C/212F for quite a while), before the temp can go up. For the pumpkin spice, I used nutmeg, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves, and I also used about 1/3 cup of half and half and the rest milk. That said, this fudge was a huge hit with everyone who ate it - creamy, sweet, smells great. I look forward to making it again (made it twice this week!) and perhaps dipping it in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Based on an old favorite recipe for regular fudge, I tried this fudge with the butter included from the beginning, boiled the fudge for 15 minutes, then let it cool 3 minutes, added the vanilla and spice. Then I beat it with electric hand held mixer until it thickened and lost it's gloss. Added the nuts and it was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This fudge was amazing, but far too sweet. This is my first time making fudge so I'm not sure if that was my fault (I added table syrup instead of corn syrup). I keep going back to eat more but no one else in my family will even touch it :(. The flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
The recipe turned out very well. One tip I have learned about making candy is to put the saucepan in a cast iron skillet over the burner while boiling and cooking the candy. Another tip is NOT stirring after the butter ,spices and vanilla extract are added until the mixture has cooled to 110 degrees farenheit.I find a candy thermometer to be essential in making candy. As other reviewers noted, the fudge takes a long time to reach the 232 degrees farenheit and to cool, but be patient. I had absolutely no problems with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States