Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This was a hit at my work place! It takes a lot of stirring, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I am not a chocolate person, so this is a great alternative to chocolate fudge. I agree that you need to do the soft ball test in cold water, mine was ready a bit before my thermometer said it was -- it depends on the thickness of your pan, how evenly it cooks, and the placement of your thermometer on the pan. LET IT COOL COMPLETELY to 110 before beating. It did take about 30 minutes to cool. I only had to beat it about 3-5 minutes with an electric hand mixer, and it was rady to go. The flavor is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Everyone who has ever tried this thinks it's just wonderful. It does take some time, but it's not 'working' time, it's 'waiting' time. You could go watch TV while it's cooking and then while it's cooling down. I've already made 3 batches. Make sure you cut the fudge in small chunks, it's sinfully rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTALJP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I followed the directions to the letter and beat it like crazy- took over 1/2 hour to thicken before I could pour it into the pan. I was really looking forward to the recipe because it sounded like the fudge I get at the Door County Confectionary in Wisconsin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
Don't try this without a candy thermometer! I am usually a pretty good judge of temperature, but I could never get this fudge to set. And my stirring arm is sore today! It looked lovely, but it was never anything more than blobs of sugary orange goo. Also, from what I tasted, it was rather bland, and could use more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I absolutely loved this recipe, as did the other 12 people I made it for. This was my first time making fudge, and it came out perfect. I didn't even have a candy thermometer! I only wish I made another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
It took SIX batches to finally get this recipe to turn out right for me. You have to be EXACT!!! It carmelized on me twice, didn't set for me twice and turned into granules, pebble like, once. But, after finally getting it right, it was DELICIOUS. Two hints that I think helped me are #1- you may not necessarily get the exact temperature on your candy thermometer, but if your mixture turns into a soft ball when dropped in cold water it's ready & #2- when you add the last ingredients, the butter, etc...add them into the pan that you cooked the 1st ingredients. Whatever you do, DON'T remove your mixture out of the saucepan into a different bowl w/ the butter. I think that by doing that I cooled the mixture way too fast & I turned it into rocks. All in all, this experience for me was the first time I ever made fudge & if it is for you too, then have enough ingredients to make a few batches. I can't tell you how many trips I made to Albertson's that night trying to get it right. But, it was well worth it, the fudge is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This is Bryson City pumpkin fudge for those who have been to Bryson City, NC and loved the pumpkin fudge from the general store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
on our honeymoon 3 years ago in tennessee, we had the most wonderful pumpkin pie fudge! i have been unable to duplicate it until now! this is the yummiest recipe, it is not that hard to make, but you definitely need the thermometer.. i heated it to 250 by accident and it still turned out wonderful... the first i stirred it as it was simmering by accident and it turned all grainy and wouldn;t harden.. so do make sure you follow the recipe... ;)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
Something really different. My husband,who doesn't care for fudge, really enjoyed this. We added 1 cup of nuts instead but still would of preferred more. Thank you for a new treat as part of our Thanksgiving dinner. And will be part of our Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States