Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was very good. I stirred when I shouldn't have so it turned out grainy. Will try again though and will try not to stir while boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This was great. Flavor and texture perfect. Hint: If you stir it after it begans to boil, it WILL have a grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Wonderful flavor. Be sure to follow the directions exactly and not stir it while it is cooking. Texture is a little funny, will try the suggestion to not stir in the last ingredients until it has cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Great! I would call these "Pumpkin White Chocolate Bars" to get people to try them. ;-) I used a non-stick pan instead of lining it with foil, and it worked fine. When cooking, watch for burned fudge rising to the top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelaBBf
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Very good recipe. I boiled the fudge until 234 instead of the called-for 232 degrees. Then, I beat the mixture for about 20 mintues. Set up perfectly and was a HIT on Christmas Eve. I will make this one again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Excellent flavor, but texture leaves a little to be desired. Made 3 times. Not a creamy fudge, but slightly on the granular side. Tried using half and half in place of milk - no difference in texture. For those who have had problems with the fudge not setting up, there are two possible reasons. First off, fudge should never be made on a rainy/snowy day, nor one with high relative humidity. Water is the enemy of fudge. Save this task for a clear day. Secondly, the correct temperature is a must. There is a range, between 232-238 for soft ball. Test the calibration on your thermometer by boiling water and checking against 212 degrees. One note on this fudge. Mine never lost its gloss. The first time, I beat it for about 10 minutes, and although it got thick, it was still very glossy. The next 2 times I beat it for about 2 minutes and 1 minute, respectively. It thickened up right away. No difference in texture. Still grainy. I never use compound spices, as I prefer to make my own mixtures, giving greater control over final flavor. Used 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, and 1/4 tsp cloves. Delicious! Update: Discovered the source of the grainy texture, FINALLY! When you add the butter, vanilla and spices (after removing from heat,) DO NOT MIX IN, as the recipe states (only add them to the pan.) Instead, after adding those ingredients, WAIT TO MIX them until the time when you beat the mixture at 110 degrees. Still not exactly creamy, but much less grainy, a big improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I coulded get it to harden to matter how long I boiled it, it was a sloppy mess that I had to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Okay... PLEASE don't give up if this doesn't set right the first time. I thought my recipe was a goner-- it still wasn't set after 5 hours. So, I figured, what the heck-- I put it ALL back into the saucepan and reheated it to 235 degrees instead of 232. Maybe it was a fluke, but I let it cool and beat it as usual, and it turned out perfectly!! So, there's still hope even if it doesn't turn out the first time. Or you could always use the goop as a dip or icing for gingersnaps. (I almost want to screw up a batch just for this purpose!!) It's soooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I'm pretty good at making traditional fudge but had no luck getting this fudge to set up. I tried twice but had slime both times. It's a shame because the slime tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This was a hit at my work place! It takes a lot of stirring, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States