Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
ugg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
i'm pretty good if I do say but this was the worse recipe I had ever tried it would not set up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
As others have stated you make fudge on a fudge day. You also need to know your pan and utensils. If you make candy often it is worth the investment in a pot that will give you great results. I use a very heavy bottomed pot a metal spoon that is kept in hot water, so that it does not chill the pot when you stir. A cold breeze, a fan, washing dishes, all these will affect your candy. When you cool the fudge leave it on the stove where it is warm so that it cools very slowly. If you don't have the room, stick it in your oven or microwave where no cool breezes can reach it. If you have sugar grains on the side remove with a damp cloth or paper towel. They will gather more sugar granules if left, or if added to mix, will stay grainy. Candy takes practice, so practice and enjoy the rewards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very good. Nice alternitive to chocolate fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This has to be the best Pumpkin Fudge I have ever tasted! It was very creamy and smooth. I put the batch I made out for Thanksgiving and it was gone in no time. I looked at the other reviews and didn't scrape the bottom of the pan as suggested and followed the directions when it said not to stir and it came out perfect on the first batch! I also didn't have a candy thermometer so I tested it the old fashioned way with a cup of cold water and it came out fine. I suggest you read some of the other successful reviews for some extra advice. Hope this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrawberryShortcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Baked the pumpkin this year, so I needed some entertaining things to do with all of it and this was one of them. It turned out terrible, a big mess of (tasty) pumpkin goo, so I took the advice of another reviewer. I patiently poured it all back into the pan and this time heated to 239 instead of 232. I read elsewhere that soft ball stage is 235-240, so I think that by going to exactly 232 I missed it (even though I thought I saw a soft ball in water). On the reheat I was also careful to brush the sides of the pan with water. I had a thick bottomed tri-ply stainless pan, so I didn't have any burning problems at all *phew!* Yum! Keeping this one in the recipe box for sure. Simple, but time consuming. Oh, and I didn't have any light corn syrup so I left it out entirely, figuring the sugar would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
They haven't quite set up yet but I tried the fudge left in the mixer bowl and it's really tasty!! If you follow the recipe it should turn out well for you. I took the advice of Baricat and mine didn't turn out very gritty, but as mentioned they aren't the smoothest consistency like you expect fudge to be. I definitely recommend using a candy thermometer. My poor little digital read meat thermometer was somewhat useless because the heat affected the display so much. I didn't have the spices called for on hand so I used allspice and cinnamon and that worked fine for me. It really looks and smells like pumpkin pie! Not giving this five stars ONLY because of the gritty texture. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This recipe is actually incredibly simple, if executed properly. As others have said, do not stir or scrape the bottom of this at all after it has boiled. I used a thick cast-iron pot, and it still burned a nice layer on the bottom - expect this. While it was boiling at medium temperature, I made a point of skimming the sides for sugar build up - if you don't want grainy fudge, I recommend it. After letting it boil for about 35 minutes and getting it to the point where it formed soft balls in cold water, I transfered it into just a simple metal baking dish to cool, no fancy surfaces or specific room temperatures required. Let it cool to about 45c and then whisk the hell out of it. It only took me about five minutes using a wooden spoon. Place into a small baking dish or molds to let cool - do not refrigerate, it will ruin everything! P.S. As this recipe calls for a fair amount of butter, it makes an awesome addition to the arsenal of the "alternative chef".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Because several reviewers found this recipe tempermental, I watched the fudge with great care. I don't have a candy thermometer, so I tested it several times till it reached soft ball stage. It took a while! I was patient, and did not scrape the bottom as people said not to, it did scorch slightly on the bottom. I thought it was very sweet, and the pumpkin flavor was slightly more subtle than I expected. Instead of using pumpkin puree, and adding spices, I used pureed pumpkin that already had pumpkin pie spice added to it. It set up well and had a smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
If you love pumpkin, don't be scared of the negative reviews. 1. Test your thermometer in boiling water and make sure it's accurate (mine was 5 degrees off, a HUGE difference in candy making). 2. When it first boils, brush sides of pan with wet pastry brush. This will dissolve sugar crystals on the side of the pan and help keep fudge from being grainy. A grainy texture is NOT due to the pumpkin, it's due to sugar crystalization. 3. Lower heat to medium and DON'T STIR! This will also kick-off sugar crystalization. It took 40 minutes for mine to get to 232-238 degrees. Immediately pour fudge onto granite/marble counter or back of a cookie sheet DO NOT SCRAPE PAN OUT. Mine was slightly brown on the bottom. Just like with caramel, this is why you don't scrape the pan out. Let sit until temp lowers to 110 (took 20 minutes on granite with house at 75 degrees) Put it all in a mixer and beat untiil it loses gloss/starts to look opaque (took 10 minutes). Put in prepared pan and let cool 1-2 hours on rack. This resulted in PERFECT consistancy. Nice and pumpkiny. You can do this! Just be super careful of temps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States