Pumpkin Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this using vanilla yogurt instead of plain yogurt and it tasted overwhemingly of pumpkin, I love pumpkin, but this was less like pumpkin pie flavoured more like frozen pumpkin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
came out VERY sour tasting and with a very strange consistency - nothing like the frozen yogurt I'm used to. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Replacing half of the nonfat greek yogurt with the full fat version kills any bitterness. Adding a dash of cardammon and black pepper gives makes for a nice chai flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epicurus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Despite mixed reviews, I was excited to try this.. especially since I love all of the ingredients listed. Sadly, it's something that I won't make again. I used pure maple syrup and followed the instructions to a "t". So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We all loved this. The kids were dying over the fact that it tasted like frozen pumpkin pie! I used one and a half teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinn, nutmeg and cloves. Ours was not bitter, but did taste a bit yogurty (but, I like that flavor). Used genuine maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
this would be a 5 star recipe for me if a vanilla yogurt was used. Greek-style yogurt is not Greek yogurt (FAGE). you can't have 2 strong different flavors in the same recipe--hence the mixed reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
We love pumpkin in various forms and this is not one of them. First made it per recipe. Tried again adding more syrup, then half & Half, still not good. The Greek-style yogurt was the culprit. Just too tart and "yogurt-y". Might be better with regular yogurt. Sorry, we didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was pretty good! I love the combination of the pumpkin and syrup and the tangy yogurt. I don't have an ice cream maker so I used the blender/freezer method recommended by another user, but I wasn't completely satisfied with the texture. I might get an ice cream maker just for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Waaaayyy too bitter - even added 1/4 c sugar and it was bitter. My wife eats Fage Greek Yogurt often and loves it, so it wasn't the yogurt, but this combo was just very tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I love most things pumpkin and had high hopes for this. I was quite dissapointed. I started out as directed. But the taste was next to aweful. The yogurt tasted like sour cream, and even mixed in with everything, still had that overbowering sour/bitter flavor. This may be in part that I have tried 4 or 5 different greek yogurts (just to eat) and I didnt like any of them at all. I added a little cream cheese and brown sugar. This helped a little bit with the flavor. I dont have a ice cream maker, but just froze the mixture. When ready to eat, i stuck it in the microwave to soften. The flavor was still odd and the texture a lil off. If I made it again, I would NOT use plain greek yogurt. I would use either regular vanilla yogurt or that and cream cheese. I also didnt like the syrup flavor with it. I think maybe more brown sugar instad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandanicole82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States