Pumpkin Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
These were so delicious! I made them for my family's Xmas celebration and to my surprise, even my finicky grandmother liked them! A few people were even dipping them in Natalie L's Easy Fruit Dip that I had made. The next time I have these I think I might try them with a spicy dijon mustard but for the most part, they are perfect alone. I will also use much smaller spoonfuls to make smaller fritters - maybe a little less than a tablespoon instead of a heaping tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
THESE WERE REALLY GOOD!I USED MY LEFT OVER COOKED PUMPKIN AND TO MY SURPRISE I COOKED THEM TWICE IN ONE WEEK! I SUGGEST YOU MAKE THEM SMALLER, AS THE FIRST BATCH I MADE WERE TABLESPOON SIZE AND I THOUGH THEY WERE TO BIG AND TO MOIST INSIDE, SO THE SECOND TIME I DID THEM HALF THE SIZE AND I LIKED THEM BETTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Holy Cow!! These were so good, they disappeared way too fast! I did add a little cayenne and garlic powder and upped the curry. I used whole wheat flour so they were a LITTLE healthier... *Note these are TOTALLY WORTH the deep fried guilt* I used a cup and 1/2 sour cream, mixed in a tbsp of dill and a little garlic powder for a dipping sauce. TOTALLY MADE IT. ;D Thank you for such an Awesome Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macchiato98

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Fantastic!! I use butternut because thats my preference but kept everything else the same, I might add some garlic next time. Yummy Yummy Yummy, I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dampier, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My boyfriend and I both thought these were phenomenal. I did double the curry b/c the blend I have is fairly mild and we like things spicy. We didn't think they needed a dipping sauce at all; perfect as is. Keep in mind that the blend of curry you use will have a lot to do with the outcome. Curry is not a spice unto itself, it is a blend of several different spices and the flavor and strength varies widely. I tasted the batter before frying to make sure the spice level was correct. In regards to bad reviews b/c these were "bland" or "unhealthy" -- they were bland b/c the amount of curry needed depends on the blend you use, and if you don't want to eat something unhealthy, WHY are you making a FRITTER (which basically means FRIED BATTER) recipe? Anyhow, after trying these with the original recipe and reading the reviews, I feel inspired to make a batch for Thanksgiving but omit salt and add brown sugar instead, omit curry powder and use pumpkin pie spices instead, then dust with powdered sugar when they're done frying. Thanks for a fantastic & versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I increased the curry and added minced dry onion to add the extra needed spice. I like the suggestion of using sour cream to top them off because I was acutully thinking of using a cucumber yogurt sauce next time. Another idea was using pumpkin pie spice and sweeting these fritters. But overall they were good and we even reheated the leftovers in a toaster oven the next day to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Fabulous recipe! I made these to pair with an Epcot Food & Wine recipe for Durban-spiced Chicken with Spicy Honey-Mustard Sauce. The fritters were a perfect match. Very tasty and very easy to make. I did fry them in olive oil instead of vegetable oil, but left the rest of the recipe the same as written. I drained them on paper towels before serving which soaked up a lot of the oil. Also, by making them small and having the oil at the correct temperature, they don't absorb a lot of oil. The addition of the curry is wonderful giving the fritters a nice taste without them being overpowering. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for the keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
A three for being different. We used the honey mustard sauce from the Aussie Chicken recipe to dip in. It was good, but still not a knock out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These were amazing. Even my family who despise curry loved them. I used half cup flour like others said and they were devoured. Yum thank you! So easy and quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten_face

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These are pretty bland. Too much flour dilutes the pumpkin flavor. And they need a good sauce with them. Not too mention all that oil makes them really unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States