Pumpkin Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
We made this last night and really enjoyed them.The curry is not the best spice for this, in my opinion. Next time, I would try more of a cinnamon or something like an allspice. Would help if they had a dusting of powdered sugar as well. First time making fritters and the directions were spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
very good will make again for sure .. The family loved them even the hubby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chica
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These were great! I have a bit of a sweet tooth so I added just a bit of sugar...i cooked the pumpkin first too and mashed it and they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I wanted to try these as dessert,so I omitted the curry, changed it to 3/4 cup of flour and added 1/2 cup of sugar, 2 rounded tsp. of cinnamon and a pinch of ginger. When cool, I dusted them with confectioner's sugar. I received rave reviews, and it's so easy to make, I can even do them on short notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
They are very fluffy. I made them to the recipe but instead of curry I did pumpkin pie spice. I also put powder sugar on them before setting them out. They went really fast. Really good- I have to find the curry powder to try the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My boyfriend and I both thought these were phenomenal. I did double the curry b/c the blend I have is fairly mild and we like things spicy. We didn't think they needed a dipping sauce at all; perfect as is. Keep in mind that the blend of curry you use will have a lot to do with the outcome. Curry is not a spice unto itself, it is a blend of several different spices and the flavor and strength varies widely. I tasted the batter before frying to make sure the spice level was correct. In regards to bad reviews b/c these were "bland" or "unhealthy" -- they were bland b/c the amount of curry needed depends on the blend you use, and if you don't want to eat something unhealthy, WHY are you making a FRITTER (which basically means FRIED BATTER) recipe? Anyhow, after trying these with the original recipe and reading the reviews, I feel inspired to make a batch for Thanksgiving but omit salt and add brown sugar instead, omit curry powder and use pumpkin pie spices instead, then dust with powdered sugar when they're done frying. Thanks for a fantastic & versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
These were super easy to make and didn't taste bad, but they were a little on the bland side for Curry. I think I will try them again but add some ginger, mustard, and a dash of cyan like I would in a chicken curry recipe to add some bite. The resident 5 year old like them dipped in honey. As is, you could easily turn them into a spicy doughnut rolled in powder sugar, maybe add some cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice if you are going that direction? As is these would be a good dumpling on the side of a saucy Indian dish, but just as a snack, they really kind of lack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Excellent flavor, perfect texture, but really needs a dipping sauce to go with it (BBQ sauce or ranch in a pinch, dill/sourcream would be excellent). I added some chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder and was very pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Not bad, but I usually prefer pumpkin stuff to be a little sweeter. Wound up dusting these with powdered sugar. Made them again without the curry (I think my curry powder is a bit on the strong side), and used pumpkin pie spice and dusted with powdered sugar. Wonderful!!! My kids gobbled them up and keep asking me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Love these! I have made this 3 times now- all from the same extra large pumpkin I bought. I cut the pumpkin into chunks sprinkle olive oil, curry powder, black pepper, cumin, ginger, fennel seeds and coriander and bake it in the oven for 40 min. Then I stick it in the blender with all the seasoning (make sure to de-glaze the pan and put in blender) Then I have great pumpkin puree to start with! I add chopped onion and frozen peas to the mix and continue to follow the recipe. It is fabulous every time- tastes great with honey mustard mixed with natural rice vinegar for a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States