Pumpkin French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Delicious! We doubled the pumpkin puree and still found the pumpkin taste to be pretty subtle. I would not increase the pumpkin past 1/2 cup or the egg mixture may lose its consistency. I added a splash of vanilla extract (personal taste). Using Texas Toast, this recipe made 6 slices = 3 servings. Either add 2 t. sugar or serve with powdered sugar or syrup. This was fantastic, we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This does not have a strong pumpkin flavor. In fact you can hardly taste the pumpkin. A good way to sneak in a health dose if Vitamin A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazyforkookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wonderful!! It's like pumpkin pie for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allenwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I liked the idea of the stuffed French toast and, since I had more pumpkin, decided to try that version. My husband is a diabetic, so the once change I made was to substite 4 tsp of splenda brown sugar in place of the powdered sugar in the filling. I thought it turned out well. Thanks for a great recipe and reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Yummy! I also added some flaxseed meal to make it even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Guess what I made this into a french toast bake and it was delicious. I first greased a 9x13 pan and loaded it up with bread cubes. Next I took the recipe's liquid ingredients along with the pumpkin and pureed it all in the blender. Next, poured it over the bread cubes and baked it for 35-40 minutes at 350F. When it was done I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over top and drizzled with powder sugar and milk glaze. Yummy from all my coworkers. and what raves! Just remember to heavily grease the pan and easy clean up. Another Bake and Take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I was afraid of leaving too much batter on the bread in case I'd have nothing left for the last slice of bread. Not a problem! In fact, I had some left over. It tasted more pumpkin-y when I didn't scrape off excess batter from the bread. I also used ground cloves instead of nutmeg (personal preference). Will try this as a bake as marthajones did, sure to be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Very good recipe, as some of the others said, the pumpkin flavor lacks a little in this recipe. I added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Really yummy on a crisp fall morning! I personally swapped out some of the straight cinnamon for pumpkin pie spice, then added a bit of white sugar to the egg mixture because I always do for my french toast. The pumpkin flavor is subtle and my daughter even asked, "Where did the pumpkin go?" but it is delicious. I only got six pieces out of my mixture, though my bread pieces were not large and I didn't dip them very long. A big hit nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
What a great idea! I used 1/2 cup pumpkin and substituted 4 egg whites to replace two of the whole eggs. It was tastey and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States