Pumpkin French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Guess what I made this into a french toast bake and it was delicious. I first greased a 9x13 pan and loaded it up with bread cubes. Next I took the recipe's liquid ingredients along with the pumpkin and pureed it all in the blender. Next, poured it over the bread cubes and baked it for 35-40 minutes at 350F. When it was done I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over top and drizzled with powder sugar and milk glaze. Yummy from all my coworkers. and what raves! Just remember to heavily grease the pan and easy clean up. Another Bake and Take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Great jumping off point. After reading some of the reviews, I thought I could make this a little more "pumpkin-y". I took 1/2 c. pumpkin and whipped it with 1/4 c. powdered sugar and 1/2 c. cream cheese. I added 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice when it was near the end of whipping. I also added pumpkin pie spice to the egg mixture instead of the spices alone. I spread the pumpkin-cream cheese mixture inside of two slices whole wheat bread and made stuffed french toast. I served it with hot maple syrup and bacon. This made for a nice lazy Sunday lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Delicious! We doubled the pumpkin puree and still found the pumpkin taste to be pretty subtle. I would not increase the pumpkin past 1/2 cup or the egg mixture may lose its consistency. I added a splash of vanilla extract (personal taste). Using Texas Toast, this recipe made 6 slices = 3 servings. Either add 2 t. sugar or serve with powdered sugar or syrup. This was fantastic, we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was really good, but as other reviewer stated, not very pumpkin-y. I guess that's good if you are hiding the pumpkin in there for extra vitamins, but not so good if you LOVE pumpkin like we do :) Next time I will try more pumpkin and less egg to see what happens. I used some pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg, and I added a little sugar to the batter to sweeten it up some as grandson does not use syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Really yummy on a crisp fall morning! I personally swapped out some of the straight cinnamon for pumpkin pie spice, then added a bit of white sugar to the egg mixture because I always do for my french toast. The pumpkin flavor is subtle and my daughter even asked, "Where did the pumpkin go?" but it is delicious. I only got six pieces out of my mixture, though my bread pieces were not large and I didn't dip them very long. A big hit nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Needs more than 1/4 pumpkin. Also used 4 whites and 2 whole eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I appreciate this idea very much. I made it for myself and my 1 year old this weekend, and we both loved it! I doctored the recipe quite a bit, which is why I gave it only four stars...but the idea alone is worth four stars, so there ya go. I used only 1 egg with 1/4 cup pumpkin and added a touch of honey and a bit of milk to thin it up a bit. I kept the spices the same. My son gobbled his slice up and asked for "mo", which is a rare thing these days. I added the honey so no syrup would be necessary, and I didn't even want any. I bet maple syrup could be used for the same effect. Overall great flavor, and a good way to get some veggies in without complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was good, but not amazing. Definitely needs more pumpkin flavor, unless you're trying to sneak in a serving of veggies like the author. The type of bread used is important. I used a loaf of wheat cause i had it on hand, and you couldnt taste the pumpkin at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very delicious! I mixed a little vanilla and powdered sugar into whipped cream cheese and made sandwiches with the french toast. Sooooo good and super easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wonderful!! It's like pumpkin pie for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allenwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States