Pumpkin French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very tasty i have never made french toast but this was very good but i also added brown sugar for sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnathan R. Brose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
What a great idea! I used 1/2 cup pumpkin and substituted 4 egg whites to replace two of the whole eggs. It was tastey and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Really yummy on a crisp fall morning! I personally swapped out some of the straight cinnamon for pumpkin pie spice, then added a bit of white sugar to the egg mixture because I always do for my french toast. The pumpkin flavor is subtle and my daughter even asked, "Where did the pumpkin go?" but it is delicious. I only got six pieces out of my mixture, though my bread pieces were not large and I didn't dip them very long. A big hit nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Very good recipe, as some of the others said, the pumpkin flavor lacks a little in this recipe. I added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wonderful!! It's like pumpkin pie for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allenwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I was afraid of leaving too much batter on the bread in case I'd have nothing left for the last slice of bread. Not a problem! In fact, I had some left over. It tasted more pumpkin-y when I didn't scrape off excess batter from the bread. I also used ground cloves instead of nutmeg (personal preference). Will try this as a bake as marthajones did, sure to be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I prepared this one as written but found it to be dry and flavorless. No hint of pumpkin flavor or even the spices. I was quite surprised as I was expecting more. I see now that several reviewers increased the pumpkin, changed up the spices and added vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Delectable! We drizzled some cream cheese frosting with maple extract over the french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
not much pumpking flavor, but delicious nontheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglas, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
With changes I would give this 4 out of 5 stars. Based on recommendations here I doubled pumpkin. I used sliced ciabatta bread that I wanted to use up and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla. It was very yummy! When I ran out of that bread, I used some Pepperidge Farms whole grain soft honey oat bread, and the flavor wasn't nearly as good - couldn't taste the pumpkin. I like the idea of whole wheat for the added nutrients, but I don't think it will work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States