Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I really enjoyed the Frech toast bake, however, an entire loaf of Texas thick-sliced bread is not needed! In step 3 of the directions it states, " Arrange the bread cubes in a single layer", so only a few slices of bread needed to be cubed. I had cubed up the entire loaf since that is what is listed in the ingredient listing. Also, I would suggest lining the cake pan with foil and geasing the foil, so clean-up of the pan is easier. As another review suggested, mix the ingredients in a bowl and then pour the mixture over the bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Loved it! Next time I think I will use half flour and half quaker oats for the topping and some walnuts...this recipe is great as is or easily adaptable to changes you may like...thanks for a great recipe p.s. I used my cooked fresh pumpkin from my garden...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Goguen Fortin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is the bomb diggity!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was really great. I did not find it too sweet and actually thought that it could have been slightly sweeter, maybe a bit more topping. I used a sparing amount of maple syrup and thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Loved it! My husband liked it and my co-workers gobbled it up! Added 1 tbs nat. (non-alcoholic) vanilla extract, added a dash of more of each spice, used sugar in the raw instead of white sugar, used old french bread (we always have crusty left-overs), used rolled oats instead of flour, and sunflower oil instead of butter. Also added a dash of skim milk just to moisten things up and glazed the baking dish with oil and maple syrup. Just because I wanted this a little more like bread pudding, I added 1/8cup of raisins and a handful of pecans for more texture and flavors. Ih and definitely mixed everything in the bowel before adding to the baking dish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe. I made a couple of changes to try lightening it up and reducing the number of ingredients used: egg beaters instead of eggs, lower calorie/high-fiber white bread instead of the Texas toast, 2 heaping tsp of pumpkin spice instead of the cinnamon/cloves/nutmeg combo, and reduced the amount of brown sugar in the topping to 1/4 cup. I also added a little 2% milk to the pumpkin mixture so there was enough liquid to fully soak the bread. Ended up with 12 generously-sized squares of french toast, at about 160 calories (and 10 grams of protein and 8 grams of fiber!) a piece! Turned out great, although I don't doubt the original recipe is even better and richer tasting - will save that for a special occasion :) The best part -- I wrapped the leftover squares individually in plastic wrap and froze them, and am looking forward to reheating them in the toaster oven for an easy/healthy breakfast later this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was a really great addition to a brunch menu. It was perfectly spiced and not too sweet, but just sweet enough to not need syrup. The crumb topping is an extra special touch. I found I liked it best with just a dollop of fresh whipped cream to complement the spicy pumpkin flavor. I didn't have Texas toast and substituted a loaf of regular sandwich bread, which when cubed equaled about 8 cups. I also took the crusts off first. The only minor issue was with mixing everything in the baking dish - that caused it to stick to the dish. I would recommend stirring the pumpkin mixture in a large bowl and adding the bread cubes to the bowl to mix, then pouring it all in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is fabulous! The flavor is very good, and it is not overly sweet. And it isn't mushy. This reminds me more of bread pudding which I love. The only substitution I made was the bread, as I did not have Texas toast. Instead I used cinnamon raisin bagel thins, which seems like an odd substitution, but it tastes great!! Defintitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was amazing! I didn't make any chages to the recipe except adding an extra teaspon of sugar. For the topping, I used 3 tablespoons of butter and added approximately 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It is delish served alone or amazing with a smidgen of maple syrup and a dollop of Extra Creamy Cool Whip. I placed the cubed bread into a 13x9 Pyrex dish and poured the puree on top and gently tossed with my hands; then sprinkled with the topping. My family is very picky and they loved, loved, loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Good Pumpkin Bread Pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States