Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This made a good and filling breakfast this morning. I am one of those people that thinks everything tastes too sweet. I liked that this did not. I didn't have Texas toast bread. I made a loaf of homemade bread, the other day, and used that. I only wanted about 4 servings, or just enough for breakfast, and used about 7 slices of the cubed bread for 1/2 the recipe. The only other change I made was subbing an equal amount of "pumpkin pie spice" for the cloves and nutmeg. I would spray the baking pan well or line with parchment as it does stick a bit like most baked french toast recipes. When done I ate it with a very tiny drizzle of maple syrup. The crumb topping already gave it a unique light sweetness. It looks like bread pudding kind of, with the cubed bread, but tastes like french toast. It did smell good to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is fabulous! The flavor is very good, and it is not overly sweet. And it isn't mushy. This reminds me more of bread pudding which I love. The only substitution I made was the bread, as I did not have Texas toast. Instead I used cinnamon raisin bagel thins, which seems like an odd substitution, but it tastes great!! Defintitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was a really great addition to a brunch menu. It was perfectly spiced and not too sweet, but just sweet enough to not need syrup. The crumb topping is an extra special touch. I found I liked it best with just a dollop of fresh whipped cream to complement the spicy pumpkin flavor. I didn't have Texas toast and substituted a loaf of regular sandwich bread, which when cubed equaled about 8 cups. I also took the crusts off first. The only minor issue was with mixing everything in the baking dish - that caused it to stick to the dish. I would recommend stirring the pumpkin mixture in a large bowl and adding the bread cubes to the bowl to mix, then pouring it all in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Good Pumpkin Bread Pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was amazing! I didn't make any chages to the recipe except adding an extra teaspon of sugar. For the topping, I used 3 tablespoons of butter and added approximately 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It is delish served alone or amazing with a smidgen of maple syrup and a dollop of Extra Creamy Cool Whip. I placed the cubed bread into a 13x9 Pyrex dish and poured the puree on top and gently tossed with my hands; then sprinkled with the topping. My family is very picky and they loved, loved, loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Loved it! Next time I think I will use half flour and half quaker oats for the topping and some walnuts...this recipe is great as is or easily adaptable to changes you may like...thanks for a great recipe p.s. I used my cooked fresh pumpkin from my garden...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Goguen Fortin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is a nice twist on a baked French toast. It has a wonderful pumpkin flavor, perfect for the fall, with a crumb topping which is a perfect finishing touch. The only concern I had before and after making the French toast was I felt the egg mixture needed either milk or cream added so the mixture can soak more thoroughly into the bread cubes. This was a nice French toast to try for a change but I probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I added 1 tbsp of Pumkin Pie Spice but that's all I added. The taste is good but I think it lacks a bit of the pumpkin flavor. Maybe with less eggs and a bit more spices it will give this a more pumpkiny flavor. Definitely will make again though.. Thank you =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceSevenfold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I really enjoyed the Frech toast bake, however, an entire loaf of Texas thick-sliced bread is not needed! In step 3 of the directions it states, " Arrange the bread cubes in a single layer", so only a few slices of bread needed to be cubed. I had cubed up the entire loaf since that is what is listed in the ingredient listing. Also, I would suggest lining the cake pan with foil and geasing the foil, so clean-up of the pan is easier. As another review suggested, mix the ingredients in a bowl and then pour the mixture over the bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Paul liked it a lot, but it was a little bland because I just est. the spice.--don't est. and don't skimp on sugar. If you do, just put maple syrup on the bottom of the piece so it soaks up the bottom a little when you eat it (the top was plenty sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States