Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I halved this recipe and put it in an 8x8 dish. I wanted to use challah bread, but they were out at the store. I ended up using a whole grain white bread that was a little too soft. When I went to stir it up it turned to mush. It still tasted good, especially the topping. I can't wait to make it again with better bread. If you've never tried challah in a french toast bake, try it...it's really the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I followed the directions exactly (except i used biscuits instead of texas toast) and it was delicious. I topped mine with powdered sugar and my husband used maple syrup. Both toppings worked well on this bake.Woke up this morning wishing I had some more. will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Delicious thanksgiving morning breakfast. I made as written, with the exception of mixing all the ingredients (not the topping ingredients), including the bread cubes together before putting the mixture in the pan. I used the crust on Texas toast also. Mine did not stick to pan and served up nicely. We ate it with warm syrup and fresh fruit. The leftovers heated up great in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made this as a dessert, but I ended up eating it for breakfast instead. More eggy than I anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made this, and was very dissapointed. I substituted wheat bread, as one reviewer suggested, and it was really only okay. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
So easy and so good. Nice mix of sweet; not overbearing. I think you could likely skip cubing the bread and just lay slices of bread down (saves a little on prep). Worth a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made it for breakfast after Thanksgiving when I had family here to help eat it. I only used about half loaf of Texas bread and like some previous reviews I mixed it in a bowl & then poured into the pan. Everyone liked it - my husband loved it so it's a keeper. Next time may add some pecans --- didn't this time because I knew some of the kids didn't care for nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen L Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
came out dry, I over baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was a delicious and easy Thanksgiving day brunch. I couldn't find any Texas Toast and used a loaf of Challah bread instead. It worked perfectly. I also read the other reviews and tossed the bread in the egg mix before putting in the baking dish. This worked very well. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz680

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving morning.. Awesome! Will definitely make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States