Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
I make this for my summer camp kids and they love it! I love sneaking vegetables into things so the pumpkin is great, and to make it more healthy I use whole wheat bread. I double the recipe and put it in a short steam table pan. This also has enough eggs that it is more substantial protein-wise than just pancakes and easier to make for a crowd than french toast. The last time I made it I had to use cartons of egg whites because my supplier hasn't had eggs in several weeks and I also covered it to prevent the edges & top from burning and it was even better- more moist and not so heavy. I'll be doing it that way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilola
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This is sooooo good! When serving, I sprinkled it with honey and powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I really liked this recipe! I added a splash of milk to the custard prior to help soak the bread, and added walnuts to the brown sugar mixture for added texture. This recipe is now a must have for Sunday brunches! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
LOVED this. Made it just as directed except because my bread was rock-hard, I did add a little milk. With less stale bread I think it would have been fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
It was a little dry. I liked the first few bites, but I want to go through and look through some more reviews. My 12 and 13 year old daughters didn't like it, but my 11 year old son loved it and had 2nd helping. I will try it again, but I'm not sure how to get it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Good but not worth all the effort it took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was amazing, better than I imagined! I did make a couple substitutions, but don't think it changed the original recipe too much. I subbed whole wheat bread from a local bakery, and an equal amount of pumpkin pie spice (the blend also includes white pepper and ginger- a lovely addition). I also whipped up some fresh cream to serve as some reviewers suggested. We were all impressed by this must make recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This recipe was really good but I did change it a bit. I followed the directions but instead of the clove/nutmeg spices, I just used equal amounts of pumpkin spice. I also only made 4 servings instead of the 8. In my opinion, the finished product was not sweet or flavorful enough for my liking by itself but was perfect with a little maple syrup! In the future I will probably add walnuts or pecans either in the bake or topping to give it a little something extra:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Easy to make and enjoyed by old and young at a family breakfast! Used the pumpkin pie spice modification suggested and almost a whole loaf of Italian bread (left out 5 pieces as pan was looking full).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was honestly really yummy but doesn't taste like pumpkin at all. Either double the pumpkin and the spices or you just get a yummy bread pudding type breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States