Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This made a good and filling breakfast this morning. I am one of those people that thinks everything tastes too sweet. I liked that this did not. I didn't have Texas toast bread. I made a loaf of homemade bread, the other day, and used that. I only wanted about 4 servings, or just enough for breakfast, and used about 7 slices of the cubed bread for 1/2 the recipe. The only other change I made was subbing an equal amount of "pumpkin pie spice" for the cloves and nutmeg. I would spray the baking pan well or line with parchment as it does stick a bit like most baked french toast recipes. When done I ate it with a very tiny drizzle of maple syrup. The crumb topping already gave it a unique light sweetness. It looks like bread pudding kind of, with the cubed bread, but tastes like french toast. It did smell good to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is fabulous! The flavor is very good, and it is not overly sweet. And it isn't mushy. This reminds me more of bread pudding which I love. The only substitution I made was the bread, as I did not have Texas toast. Instead I used cinnamon raisin bagel thins, which seems like an odd substitution, but it tastes great!! Defintitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was a really great addition to a brunch menu. It was perfectly spiced and not too sweet, but just sweet enough to not need syrup. The crumb topping is an extra special touch. I found I liked it best with just a dollop of fresh whipped cream to complement the spicy pumpkin flavor. I didn't have Texas toast and substituted a loaf of regular sandwich bread, which when cubed equaled about 8 cups. I also took the crusts off first. The only minor issue was with mixing everything in the baking dish - that caused it to stick to the dish. I would recommend stirring the pumpkin mixture in a large bowl and adding the bread cubes to the bowl to mix, then pouring it all in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Good Pumpkin Bread Pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was amazing! I didn't make any chages to the recipe except adding an extra teaspon of sugar. For the topping, I used 3 tablespoons of butter and added approximately 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It is delish served alone or amazing with a smidgen of maple syrup and a dollop of Extra Creamy Cool Whip. I placed the cubed bread into a 13x9 Pyrex dish and poured the puree on top and gently tossed with my hands; then sprinkled with the topping. My family is very picky and they loved, loved, loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Loved it! Next time I think I will use half flour and half quaker oats for the topping and some walnuts...this recipe is great as is or easily adaptable to changes you may like...thanks for a great recipe p.s. I used my cooked fresh pumpkin from my garden...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is a nice twist on a baked French toast. It has a wonderful pumpkin flavor, perfect for the fall, with a crumb topping which is a perfect finishing touch. The only concern I had before and after making the French toast was I felt the egg mixture needed either milk or cream added so the mixture can soak more thoroughly into the bread cubes. This was a nice French toast to try for a change but I probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I added 1 tbsp of Pumkin Pie Spice but that's all I added. The taste is good but I think it lacks a bit of the pumpkin flavor. Maybe with less eggs and a bit more spices it will give this a more pumpkiny flavor. Definitely will make again though.. Thank you =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceSevenfold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I really enjoyed the Frech toast bake, however, an entire loaf of Texas thick-sliced bread is not needed! In step 3 of the directions it states, " Arrange the bread cubes in a single layer", so only a few slices of bread needed to be cubed. I had cubed up the entire loaf since that is what is listed in the ingredient listing. Also, I would suggest lining the cake pan with foil and geasing the foil, so clean-up of the pan is easier. As another review suggested, mix the ingredients in a bowl and then pour the mixture over the bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Paul liked it a lot, but it was a little bland because I just est. the spice.--don't est. and don't skimp on sugar. If you do, just put maple syrup on the bottom of the piece so it soaks up the bottom a little when you eat it (the top was plenty sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States