Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I don't like bread heels and had been stashing the heels from my Dave's Killer Bread in the freezer until I found this recipe. It's a keeper! Aside from using my DKB heels torn into pieces, the other change I made was using raw sugar for both the pumpkin mixture and the topping. The raw sugar gave the topping a nice crunch. I also doubled the sugar in the pumpkin mixture. Next time I'll use 3 tablespoons of sugar in the pumpkin mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali Peacock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I really liked this. It's so easy that I made it two days in a row. Once for my family and once to take to my Bible study group. I added an extra T of sugar both times. The second time I subbed 2t pumpkin pie spice for all the spices - I didn't really notice that it made a difference. My store didn't have Texas toast so I just used a regular one pound loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Recipe was good but I thought it could use milk, the mixture was thick and the casserole was a little dry. The taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Esther Provencio
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this recipe after breakfast, to use up the pumpkin purée in the fridge, so let it soak up the goodness; baked it just before the new episode of "Revenge," and served it drizzled with Hungry Jack butter Syrup, a dollop of KoolWhip, and lots of crisp bacon! I love the pumpkin in it, and the spices scented the whole house! I halved the recipe; used a tad more spices, let it sit in the fridge 6 hours, and baked it in a brownie pan lined with nonstick foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Esther Provencio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anthony, New Mexico, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a staple for Thanksgiving morning at our house - along with Starbucks Thanksgiving blend! We use light whole wheat bread rather than Texas toast, and cut down on the topping, and it turns out just a good - but healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I really wasn't impressed with this recipe. I had a hard time tasting the pumpkin over all the sugar. I won't be making this again. And boy did it stick to the pan! I even sprayed it with Pam before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This recipe is delicious! The only substitution I make is the flour in the topping. I switch it out with about oats by adding and mixing in oats until it's really crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I loved it and it was so easy. I did double the topping as I didn't think that it was enough for the whole casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
We love this recipe! It's easy to make and it's delicious. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Fantastic way to start a weekend morning. I used wheat english muffins instead and half the egg batter w just whites. We drizzled a little honey on after we plated and it was truly a delightful way to start this fall season! Not only was it delicious but our house smelled so homey and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States