Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Like others I did not use Texas toast - but a loaf of cinnamon chip from Great Harvest Bread. I left out the cinnamon, gloves and nutmeg and used 3 Tsp pumpkin pie spice. Baked this in a disposable pan so I could give it as a gift - it was great! You could also use a loaf of cinnamon swirl bread. I also added 1/2 cup cinnamon chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
So good! I used four eggs and four egg whites and added about a half cup of almond milk to make up for it. Also chopped up pecans for the crumble instead of using four and yogurt instead of butter. I even used multi-grain bread and it was still fantastic. So many possibilities to make this healthier (or not).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious! I fixed it according to directions. We put lite syrup on it and loved it. Later we put cool whip on it, way yummy! My husband thought it would make a great dessert as well, and it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Just made this for Thanksgiving breakfast and it was amazing, everyone loved it. I tore off all the crust of the bread, then tore each slice into about 6 pieces and set aside while I mixed up the filling without the cloves, as we don't care for it. And as another reviewer said, I put the bread into the large mixing bowl and folded it together along with a big handful of pecan halves and then poured into the dish and sprinkled the topping on it. Cooked mine at 325 for 30 minutes. I had maple syrup, creamy whipped topping, and honey on the table. The whipped topping was the favorite. I will definitely make this over and over. What a delicious and easy dish. Would make a good supper on a cool evening or as a dessert. 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I increased the sugar to two tbsp. I increased the sugar in the topping to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 cup chopped pecans and doubled the butter. It would have been better if I had cubed the bread last night and let it dry a bit. Not too sweet and fairly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was delicious! I cut the recipe in half for my family of 3 and it was perfect. Very easy and quite good. I used sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great flavor exactly as written. Nice to have another creative French Toast option. I made the night before and baked it in the morning. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Prepared this the night before, I just used a loaf of french bread, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My family is not a fan of pumpkin. So, I substituted a can of apple pie filling. And added pecans to the topping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly (except added chopped walnuts to the topping). Was used to saturated bread for french toast. This was mostly just well-coated, not soggy - which made for a perfectly baked recipe! Crispy exterior with soft warm interior. 8 girls at PJ Bunco night ATE IT UP - literally. Delicious. Perfect sweetness. A true new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States