Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
What did I do wrong? Everyone else likes this recipe and I thought it was marginal at best. I used an italian loaf so maybe the bread was too dense. I found this recipe to be waaaaay to bready, lacking in flavour, needing a dash of salt at least to brighten the palate, maybe a splash of bourbon or rum to add another layer of flavour. It was just flat. Boring. Definitely not satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annageorgina
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing. Having left over pumpkin pie mix, I added it to the bottom of the pan before I added the bread. I turned this creation into something new and exciting. Highly recommended!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was an amazing dish....not too sweet which is what I was hoping for. I hate breakfast dishes that taste like a dessert. This was simple to put together- I also did not need the whole loaf of bread- had maybe 5 slices left over. I used fairly heaping measurements for the spices and had great results. I also added the bread cubes ( I pre measured out for my pan size) to the mixing bowl to toss together. I think it may have been a bit messy to do efficiently in a 9x13. Poured it into the baking pan, added the crumb topping (which I think is an excellent touch) and baked for 30 min. House smelled wonderful, husband and 5 yr old loved it and this is going to be a thanksgiving/christmas tradition for our family. You can't screw it up it is so easy, and it looks and tastes good enough to serve for guests. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Really good addition to any brunch menu, instead of texas toast bread I used bakery fresh egg bread and sliced it thick myself, I halved the recipe for a smaller family and used as a side dish rather than a main. Will definetely make again. I think I will try it with cinnamon bread too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Like others I did not use Texas toast - but a loaf of cinnamon chip from Great Harvest Bread. I left out the cinnamon, gloves and nutmeg and used 3 Tsp pumpkin pie spice. Baked this in a disposable pan so I could give it as a gift - it was great! You could also use a loaf of cinnamon swirl bread. I also added 1/2 cup cinnamon chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
So good! I used four eggs and four egg whites and added about a half cup of almond milk to make up for it. Also chopped up pecans for the crumble instead of using four and yogurt instead of butter. I even used multi-grain bread and it was still fantastic. So many possibilities to make this healthier (or not).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious! I fixed it according to directions. We put lite syrup on it and loved it. Later we put cool whip on it, way yummy! My husband thought it would make a great dessert as well, and it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Just made this for Thanksgiving breakfast and it was amazing, everyone loved it. I tore off all the crust of the bread, then tore each slice into about 6 pieces and set aside while I mixed up the filling without the cloves, as we don't care for it. And as another reviewer said, I put the bread into the large mixing bowl and folded it together along with a big handful of pecan halves and then poured into the dish and sprinkled the topping on it. Cooked mine at 325 for 30 minutes. I had maple syrup, creamy whipped topping, and honey on the table. The whipped topping was the favorite. I will definitely make this over and over. What a delicious and easy dish. Would make a good supper on a cool evening or as a dessert. 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I increased the sugar to two tbsp. I increased the sugar in the topping to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 cup chopped pecans and doubled the butter. It would have been better if I had cubed the bread last night and let it dry a bit. Not too sweet and fairly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was delicious! I cut the recipe in half for my family of 3 and it was perfect. Very easy and quite good. I used sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States