Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
There was way too much bread to make a single layer and not enough mixture to coat all the bread in the recipe. Several prior reviewers reduced the amount of bread or added other ingredients which I should have done. Coating the bread is a critical step. The bottom half of my dish tasted like plain bread. The top half was delicious. Either double the recipe so there is sufficient pumpkin mix to coat all the bread or reduce the amount of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made exactly as written. I thought it was a bit bland. I would have liked more pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Made this today and enjoyed it! Like other reviewers noted, this dish offered just enough sweetness. Other french toast bakes I've ever made or eaten were super sweet. I used only 3/4 of the loaf of Texas toast. Also, I sprayed my glass baking dish (13x9) generously with cooking spray before placing the bread cubes inside; mixing the cubes with the batter while in the baking dish didn't cause my finished product to stick. Finally, I sprinkled powdered sugar over the top before serving each slice, which gave it just the right amount of extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
my family loved this! i took the suggestion of others & mixed this together before pouring into a parchment paper-lined pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiMi's Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The only changes I made to this recipe was that I used a big can of pumpkin minus l/2 cup (that I used for a pumpkin cheesecake), also had about 5 slices of Texas Toast left as some others did and I soaked each slice in the mixture and put in the pan. This was absolutely delicious and we put some maple syrup on the top. We had it for dinner a couple of days after Thanksgiving. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was a delicious Thanksgiving breakfast. I was hoping for a new tradition for breakfast. Sadly, I was the only one who liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent! We used less bread (5 slices less of a loaf) and some of us added maple sirup or more brown sugar on their serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Adding a cup of roasted pecans to the topping is a must. Mixing in a large bowl is a good idea too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Amazing! We decided not to cube the bread, instead we all had a slice! Would like to make extra "crumble" next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Too dry, the bread is way to dry, flavor is good, I was not the only one who think like this, my guess were family and fried that gave me an honest opinion. Do not get confuse with so many 4 plus start, that was it motivated me to do it, very disapointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States