Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Amazing! We decided not to cube the bread, instead we all had a slice! Would like to make extra "crumble" next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Too dry, the bread is way to dry, flavor is good, I was not the only one who think like this, my guess were family and fried that gave me an honest opinion. Do not get confuse with so many 4 plus start, that was it motivated me to do it, very disapointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was NOT a hit with our family. I had high hopes for it and made it for Thanksgiving morning. Although no one thought it was bad enough to be thrown away, they also didn't think it was good enough for seconds or that I should ever make it again. Most of what I heard was that it was a 'weird texture'. Sorry not a winner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULAINE59

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I had such high hopes for this one, but my family voted it a "never make again" recipe. And we love pumpkin and french toast. The pumpkin part was not sweet enough. But we loved the topping. Perhaps we need to double the topping and mix some in with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Loved this! Made for breakfast this morning.....used white bread as I couldnt find Texas toast....also made the wet mixture in a huge bowl and added the bread cubes to that to toss and coat before adding to the 9x13. I omitted the cloves and should have buttered or sprayed my 9x13 with cooking spray as this stuck to the pan a bit....served with a drizzle of maple syrup...my family and I loved it and it was not too sweet.....perfect and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great twist on standard french toast. I will make this again, but i think i will double the topping next time. The topping is what gives this dish its flavor. Its not too sweet, which we like. I followed other reviews and added some cool whip to the top, PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
What did I do wrong? Everyone else likes this recipe and I thought it was marginal at best. I used an italian loaf so maybe the bread was too dense. I found this recipe to be waaaaay to bready, lacking in flavour, needing a dash of salt at least to brighten the palate, maybe a splash of bourbon or rum to add another layer of flavour. It was just flat. Boring. Definitely not satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annageorgina
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing. Having left over pumpkin pie mix, I added it to the bottom of the pan before I added the bread. I turned this creation into something new and exciting. Highly recommended!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was an amazing dish....not too sweet which is what I was hoping for. I hate breakfast dishes that taste like a dessert. This was simple to put together- I also did not need the whole loaf of bread- had maybe 5 slices left over. I used fairly heaping measurements for the spices and had great results. I also added the bread cubes ( I pre measured out for my pan size) to the mixing bowl to toss together. I think it may have been a bit messy to do efficiently in a 9x13. Poured it into the baking pan, added the crumb topping (which I think is an excellent touch) and baked for 30 min. House smelled wonderful, husband and 5 yr old loved it and this is going to be a thanksgiving/christmas tradition for our family. You can't screw it up it is so easy, and it looks and tastes good enough to serve for guests. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Really good addition to any brunch menu, instead of texas toast bread I used bakery fresh egg bread and sliced it thick myself, I halved the recipe for a smaller family and used as a side dish rather than a main. Will definetely make again. I think I will try it with cinnamon bread too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States