Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made this, and was very dissapointed. I substituted wheat bread, as one reviewer suggested, and it was really only okay. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
So easy and so good. Nice mix of sweet; not overbearing. I think you could likely skip cubing the bread and just lay slices of bread down (saves a little on prep). Worth a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made it for breakfast after Thanksgiving when I had family here to help eat it. I only used about half loaf of Texas bread and like some previous reviews I mixed it in a bowl & then poured into the pan. Everyone liked it - my husband loved it so it's a keeper. Next time may add some pecans --- didn't this time because I knew some of the kids didn't care for nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen L Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
came out dry, I over baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was a delicious and easy Thanksgiving day brunch. I couldn't find any Texas Toast and used a loaf of Challah bread instead. It worked perfectly. I also read the other reviews and tossed the bread in the egg mix before putting in the baking dish. This worked very well. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz680

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving morning.. Awesome! Will definitely make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I cut this recipe in half to serve 4. There was entirely too much bread for one layer! Didn't turn out good at all. At least half of the bread had no pumpkin mixture on it and came out dry. We could only eat the top. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodwell, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great flavor and topped with maple syrup makes it taste even better. The only problem I had was not all the bread soaked up the batter. So the middle of the bread was dry. Maybe using regular bread or letting it sit over night? Still yummy though and we ate seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
There was way too much bread to make a single layer and not enough mixture to coat all the bread in the recipe. Several prior reviewers reduced the amount of bread or added other ingredients which I should have done. Coating the bread is a critical step. The bottom half of my dish tasted like plain bread. The top half was delicious. Either double the recipe so there is sufficient pumpkin mix to coat all the bread or reduce the amount of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made exactly as written. I thought it was a bit bland. I would have liked more pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States