Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I hate it when people change the recipe & review it, but I am guilty for that....I thought 1 loaf of Texas toast would be too much for 3 of us, so I used about 3/4 of the loaf with crusts cut off, used 6 eggs, 1/2 cup of milk (it seemed too thick) & added 1/4 cup of sugar (I was afraid it wouldn't be sweet enough) For the topping, I used a packet of Cinnamon Roll instant oatmeal with 1/3 cup brown sugar and 2 tbl. of butter.....after reading about the messy cleanup others had, I used a disposable pan ( I hate sticky messes & the 50 cent pan is worth my time) baked it for 39 minutes.... This is a KEEPER....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We put maple syrup on it & WOW!!!! My daughter finished it off, and she is on a diet, so this was incredible. I am making it again this Sunday, but will make the entire loaf of bread......Thanks for an excellent recipe, that I changed to suit our tastes...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cris Bynum

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Flat, bland taste. Very dry if you use a whole loaf. Minimal pumpkin flavor. Would not make again. This recipe needs some major tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe was interesting more than anything. I got good feedback especially on those who arent chocolate lovers. It kinda tastes like the mexican "abuelita" hot chocolate. Overall very good flavor! I just thought the texture was a bit off but thats just the pumpkins fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgardea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Grainy texture and not sweet at all. Needs major improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
It was good! My family prefers typical french toast, so maybe next time I will just dip the whole bread in the mixture and bake rather than cut up the bread. Just a thought... Makes the whole house smell amazing!! I used our fresh brown eggs (thank you girls!, homemade bread, plus homegrown pumpkin puree, so the whole meal cost under a dollar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Yum! Everyone loved this, especially our 2 year old! I made it just as stated for Thanksgiving breakfast and it was a hit. The baby keeps asking for more "puh-kin toast". :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. I made this for my whole family the day after Thanksgiving and there were no leftovers. I added some chopped toasted pecans for some texture and crunch. I also doubled the topping and served with either their choice of maple syrup, or home made whip cream from the pies I had made for Thanksgiving. Highly recommend, especially for people who love the holiday spice flavors like I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was very easy and everyone loved it (even picky eaters). Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is a wonderful dish. I took others advice and added bread cubes to pumpkin mixture and it worked out great. Solo good. I will divide this up and freeze for individual breakfasts. This I do with pancakes, chicken, side dishes etc. I cook when I can and store for later. I have lost 55 pounds this way and eat better than I ever have. Eating healthy is easy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyann
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I halved this recipe and put it in an 8x8 dish. I wanted to use challah bread, but they were out at the store. I ended up using a whole grain white bread that was a little too soft. When I went to stir it up it turned to mush. It still tasted good, especially the topping. I can't wait to make it again with better bread. If you've never tried challah in a french toast bake, try it...it's really the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States