Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Didn't like the texture. Middle was to mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I was so excited to try this for breakfast and it was just one headache after another. First it took me five stores to find the heavy texas toast. Then when I made it I was so disappointed. The flavors didn't come together well wasn't very pumpkiney. Just all together fell flat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I don't like bread heels and had been stashing the heels from my Dave's Killer Bread in the freezer until I found this recipe. It's a keeper! Aside from using my DKB heels torn into pieces, the other change I made was using raw sugar for both the pumpkin mixture and the topping. The raw sugar gave the topping a nice crunch. I also doubled the sugar in the pumpkin mixture. Next time I'll use 3 tablespoons of sugar in the pumpkin mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I really liked this. It's so easy that I made it two days in a row. Once for my family and once to take to my Bible study group. I added an extra T of sugar both times. The second time I subbed 2t pumpkin pie spice for all the spices - I didn't really notice that it made a difference. My store didn't have Texas toast so I just used a regular one pound loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Recipe was good but I thought it could use milk, the mixture was thick and the casserole was a little dry. The taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmy713
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this recipe after breakfast, to use up the pumpkin purée in the fridge, so let it soak up the goodness; baked it just before the new episode of "Revenge," and served it drizzled with Hungry Jack butter Syrup, a dollop of KoolWhip, and lots of crisp bacon! I love the pumpkin in it, and the spices scented the whole house! I halved the recipe; used a tad more spices, let it sit in the fridge 6 hours, and baked it in a brownie pan lined with nonstick foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmy713

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anthony, New Mexico, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a staple for Thanksgiving morning at our house - along with Starbucks Thanksgiving blend! We use light whole wheat bread rather than Texas toast, and cut down on the topping, and it turns out just a good - but healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I really wasn't impressed with this recipe. I had a hard time tasting the pumpkin over all the sugar. I won't be making this again. And boy did it stick to the pan! I even sprayed it with Pam before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This recipe is delicious! The only substitution I make is the flour in the topping. I switch it out with about oats by adding and mixing in oats until it's really crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I loved it and it was so easy. I did double the topping as I didn't think that it was enough for the whole casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States