Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I am far from a "cook" but I am trying to learn with my 3 year old beside me. We had no eggs and I didn't feel like going to the store and came across this recipe. It was great! Somewhat chewy but very moist and my 3 year old called it "cake". Husband liked it too. Quick, easy, yummy. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
These were wonderful! I made muffins, using a total of 2 cups of flours, including the flax meal, coconut flour, rye flour and unbleached. I cut the sugar to 1/3 C per other recommendations. I used a total of 2 teaspoons of spices; the recipe calls for more, and next time, I'll make sure to do that. I had home-grown, pureed pumpkin in the freezer so I used a cup of that, and a 1/2 C plastic cup of applesauce. Because I was making these for coworkers and because I knew that "fat-free" would have a different consistency (sticky / gummy), I added 1 egg and 2 T oil. Once I started stirring and judging consistency, I knew that it would need a bit of liquid so I added 3 T cranberry juice (the straight stuff, NOT the juice cocktail!). I used 1/4 C batter and got 13 muffins (12 in paper liners in my muffin tins and the last in a silicon cup in the microwave like I do corn muffins...I would NOT recommend micro-cooking them in the future! that one WAS rubbery!). Coworkers loved them; boss, who makes whole-grain flax muffins, was impressed with the moistness (I'm crediting the pumpkin). I have a friend who's just been diagnosed with a number of food allergies (wheat, eggs, dairy...), and the recipe as written will work GREAT for her. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jasonthehaas
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Turned out beautifully! I chose to add sunflower seeds as a topping, and they really added to the presentation. (See my picture??)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out amazing. It was very moist, and was a huge hit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made mine with a whole can of pumpkin and no applesauce. I also used pumpkin pie spice in place of the other spices. I made as muffins. The taste was very good so 5 stars - I just have to figure out the proper cooking time. I baked for at least 28 minutes and they still seemed not done in texture but very tasty. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Plant Strong
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I just made a batch! They are quite nice & tasty, and mild. I made muffins & I used a convection oven set at 350 for 28 min. I tried 20 min but they weren't done. I used 4 tbsp of water & 3 tbsp of molasses. I used 1 1/4 cup organic brown sugar.( not packed) I also used 2/3 cup Living Intentions Sprouted Flour (Gluten free for those who need that.) & 1 cup One Degree Organic Sprouted Whole Wheat. I used 2 tsp of baking powder & omitted the soda. I forgot to add the raisins! Darn it! Next time! I think if I had they would have given them a bit more sweetness & a 5 star plant strong rating. :-) Very nice recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Very good vegan bread recipe! It is very moist. I've tried it both with and without applesauce. I replaced the applesauce with vegetable oil in one version and it was delicious, though of course not as healthy as written. I also reduced the amount of cloves to 1/8 tsp, reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp, increased the cinnamon to 2 1/2 tsp (don't do this unless you love cinnamon, it is very pronounced!!), and added 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger. We liked it with vegan cream cheese spread, whipped with a hand mixer with some additional cinnamon and a bit if vanilla extract! Also--my oven bakes VERY hot, and as other reviewers mentioned you may need to drastically reduce the timing. My bread was done at 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This tasted great. Yes, it was gluey, but that's why the bread held together and didn't crumble and fall apart; the only way to make it un-gluey would be to add egg and butter and oil. I also remade this using 1 cup applesauce and 3/4 cup pumpkin as that was what I had. It turned out great either way. This is a great recipe that you can change to suit your needs. BE CAREFUL how long you bake this, however: I left the first loaf in for 20 minutes and it was perfect. I left the second one in for 30 minutes and it was burnt. 60-70 minutes would not have worked with my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
It's probably but own fault this didn't come out better as I did make quite a few substitutions (cut sugar in half and used sugar/splenda combo, all whole grain flour). It was very difficult to cook fully in the middle even with mini loaves. The tops got quite burnt. Not likely to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
For best results, make a day ahead of time ! I concur with reviewers who say that the flavours develop over a 24 hour period. They do. I reduced the sugar becasue I knew I would make a glaze for the bread and I added a hint of vanilla to the batter. The vanilla is not neceassary, I simply like vanilla. The flax seed will give the bread a different crumb texture. Some have defined it as "gooey". It is not "gooey", it is simply characteristic of flax. Yes, the bread is mosit. I recommend keeping a watchful eye on the baking process starting with the lowest cook time and increading it in increments of 5 mins, if needed. Your bake time will differ from oven to oven, obviously, and will also differ depending on the flour you use and the type of pan. I used a super shiny aluminum pan (Williams Sonoma) and lined it with parchment paper. The bread was done in about 50 minutes. I do not recommend dark pans for baking anything. With heavier batters, they tend to cook uneven. This is a good easy recipe. As an experienced cook, I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States