Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very good! I took the advice from some of the other reviews, and DID NOT add the 1/2 cup of white sugar to the topping mix. I had tried another recipe very much like this one before, and the added sugar made it too sweet. There is enough sweetness already in the cake mix. Also, remember to made sure the pumpkin is set. You cannot nessessary assume it's done by the golden browness of the top. Insert a butter knife or a toothpick in the center, and if it comes out clean, then it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I had to substitute a can of pineapple because I only had a small can of pumpkin. Everyone loved it. I will still try to make this recipe again with the large can of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was really good as is BUT I modified the recipe to the tastes of my family. I left the crust the same, but in the filling I decreased the sugar to 5/16 cup (which turns out to be 5 tablespoons OR 1/4 plus 1 tablespoon) and left everything else the same. In the topping I used margarine instead of butter, only 1/4 cup of sugar, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and no nuts. We thought the modified version was better because it was still rich, but not overly rich. This makes a lot! We had 6 people at thanksgiving and we only ate about 1/4 of the cake! I would recommend this, but perhaps thinks about modifying the sugar so that it isn't soooooo rich! I didn't think it was bland at all. It had the perfect amount of spice for me. I will continue to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie_monster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
VERY easy to make and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
delicious. it was very easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanaval
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Wow this was amazing! I did not expect this dessert to be as great after reading a couple of reviews that had said this was better the day after. This was delicious though! The only thing I changed about this recipe was the topping. Rather than the white sugar I used raw sugar cane crystals. I used about 3/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup. I added the raw sugar, remaining cake mix, butter, and chopped nuts to the food processor. This happened to crush down the walnuts even more, but the topping was wonderful! I also recommend this recipe for those who do not like traditional pie crusts too, like me! The bottom cake crust was a great idea! And the pumpkin filling was perfect! This deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanaval

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I would really give this recipe 3.5 stars. It's a good recipe and everyone liked it at the party I made it for, but I think it could be a little more flavorful. I'm not sure what to add to it, though, for that extra umph. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I used the pureed pulp from a peanut pumpkin that I had baked. Since the pulp was a bit thinner than the canned pumpkin I added about a teaspoon of cornstarch. I left the nuts off the top since I made this as a snack item for the children at the child care center where I work. I prepared two pans. The children and staff really enjoyed the dessert. Staff made copies of this recipe to make at home. This was a great hit with all ages. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
used this for a catering......I didn't try it but I didn't get any excitement from it....may try again for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Made these as cupcakes. HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States