Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I thought that we would really like this because my family loves pumpkin so much, but we didn't think it was all that great. First we didn't care for the cake mix crust and second, we missed the more custard-like filling in pumpkin pie. It tasted nice, but we just didn't care for the texture of the dessert. It was fun to try but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Everyone thinks this is fabulous. My only change to the recipe is that I use hickory nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I made this with spice cake mix and extra spices. It was very good, but keep thinking a crispier bottom would be better. Maybe a gingersnap crust. Anyway, it was an easy and good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Merryfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I've made this for years and everybody loves it, especially the men. Try using the spice cake mix with the plain canned pumpkin for a really good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoidalot
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
loved this recipe. I made mine in a bundt pan for effect. Simple great flavor. Anyone with baking or novice will love. Thanks for submitting this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoidalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
YUM! I brought this to work and it was gone within an hour. A nice change from pumpkin pie. My only comment/complaint is that I felt the 'crust' needs something, maybe some finely crushed nuts for texture, it seemed kinda blah. Other than that, excellent! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Okay, so I am going to do what I said I would NEVER do.. Tell you I loved the recipe , but made a change in it.. I only had a 15 ounce can of pumpkin and didn't want to drive to the store for just one thing, knowing I would buy more!! I used the can of pumpkin and added one 8 ounce package of 1/3 less fat cream cheese.. I also only had a box of white cake mix, so I added 2 teaspoons of REAL vanilla to the bottum layer ingredients.. It is wonderful.. Made it today, tried a small piece just a few minutes ago, and it tastes great.. I would make this again, the same way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I make this every year for my friend's Fall Feast; leftovers never make it home. My original recipe is very close to this one with some changes. I use 1/4 cup melted butter in the crust. Substitute a can of pumpkin pie mix instead of pumpkin, eliminate the sugar and pumpkin pie spice, and use only 2 eggs in the mixture. The topping uses 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon / nutmeg to taste in the topping. Turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
It's a shame you can't give this more stars. It was incredibly delicious. Such nice velvety texture. I made this for a football party and it was gobbled up. Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Sardinia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Made this exactly according to the instruction. However, realized after 20 minutes of baking that the dish of chopped walnuts was still sitting on the counter...totally forgot about them, but it was OK. Will make this again, but it won't replace good old pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States