Pumpkin Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Debra C
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe......followed it just as specified. FYI though...there is no way this pie will cook in 25-30 minutes at 400 degrees. We pulled it out at 30 minutes, and the custard wasn't close to being set and the crust hadn't evens started browning. We let it go cook for another 20 minutes ( 50 minutes total cook time) and it was perfect. Used a pie crust cover for first 30 minutes and took it off for last 20 and it came out gorgeous. Completely set in the middle and it had turned a dark golden copper color.....and was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made quite a few adjustments to this recipe. First, I didn't make it into a pie, I just made little custards. This recipe (one 15-oz. can of pumpkin puree) perfectly filled 4 little ramekins. I used a bain-marie (set the custards in a roaster and then poured 1 or 2 inches of water in the roaster). I used 3/4 c dark brown sugar instead of white, and it made the flavor HEAVENLY! I only used 1/4 cup milk because I see some folks had trouble with the batter being too thin. It was probably alright for me to use the entire 1/2 cup of milk because I really let the pumpkin get BONE DRY in the saucepan. This took a lot longer than 10 minutes. Maybe some pumpkin purees are more moist than others, and that's where the trouble is. Make sure your puree is really *really* dry. Mine easily clumped into a big ball in the pan before I called it done. I didn't have ginger so I subbed some pumpkin pie spice to go with the cinnamon that I did have. Other than that, the custards were wonderful, and they were even better the day after. I'll definitely save this one. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
About to try this recipe. Reading Barb72's comments, I'll separate the eggs, whip the whites, and then fold in. Perhaps that will lighten things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This pie certainly was delicious, and I chose it because I was looking for one without evaporated or condensed milk. I baked it 5 minutes longer than it said because it didn't look quite 'done' and even when it cooled it wasn't done. Became quite a soupy mess. Not sure if that had something to do with the 'cooking the pumpkin' step or what. I couldn't get mine to look caramelized, though I cooked it quite a while on the stove top. Will try again when I have heavy cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I ommitted the 1/2 cup milk. I cooked it for much longer than called for, until the centre was fairly firm. And it was GREAT! Most of the pie was firm, but the very centre just barely holds its shape when cut (almost like thick pudding). If you like your pie with lots of pumpkin flavour, lots of creaminess, and a soft texture, this is a perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This recipe made a very smooth, creamy custard filling for my holiday pie. The spices weren't quite strong enough for me but that was easy to fix; I tasted the filling before adding the eggs and increased the spices, adding nutmeg and cloves, until the flavor was perfect. I liked the advice about chilling the crust, which kept the crust from burning while the filling set, and drying the pumpkin over heat kept the filling from being too wet. The final result got high praise from some VERY picky pumpkin pie eaters! This will definitely be my only pumpkin pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I have been baking from scratch since I was a kid. (I'm 63 now) I learned from my Mom. With a couple modifications, this pumpkin custard pie really turned out excellent for me. As suggested by other reviewers, I omitted the 1/2c. milk. I found that I had to stir the pumpkin about 1/2 an hour over medium heat to get it to the desired consistency. A reviewer mentioned that theirs came out thin and soupy in the middle. I think that by cooking the pumpkin for 1/2 an hour on the stove, this problem is eliminated. I also baked my pie for 45 minutes, till the center was just slightly jiggly, and cooled the pie on a wire rack completely. The texture is phenomenal! I couldn't ask for better. I will definitely be making this recipe many, many more times. thank you Sara for this magnificent recipe. Yashu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indian River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I loved it. I thought it was a great spin on pumpkin pie, but I'd add more spices next time. The pumpkin-pie-lovers at the table weren't as big on it... it was too "light" for them to get their traditional fix. I think it would make a great parfait as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Chose this for my holiday pie this year, and we were thrilled with its creamy goodness. Absolutely loved it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjns
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
this is a pie that's meant to be thick and creamy. i've made this pie many different ways but i find that the pie comes out thicker and firmer when i use freshly baked pumpkin because the texture of the pumpkin is drier. it also taste so much better than when i use canned pumpkin. but using canned pumpkin or not, i omit the milk because the pie doesn't set. the bake time is definitely longer than the time posted in this recipe, i can't remember how long because i usually just check the firmness of the custard, maybe about an hour. this is the only pumpkin pie recipe i use and my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States