Pumpkin Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Pumpkin Custard Pie always gets rave reviews with my family, even from the kids who usually eschew pumpkin pie (mostly because they don't like the texture of the pumpkin mixture in the mouth). This firm, creamy pie has a more familiar "mouth feel" for kids so they eat it up. I usually substitute half of the cinnamon for 1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg (freshly ground is best, in fact I use freshly ground cinnamon as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is EXCELLENT Pumpkin Custard Pie, and it is gone as soon as it is cool enough to eat...LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good recipe. I used pumpkin egg nog instead of milk and it tasted really good. The only problem was that I used a thick glass pie pan and the crust wasn't all the way cooked and it could've used 5-10 minutes more on the filling as well. I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosemary Mattson
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
The only change I made was to put it in a graham cracker crust and less milk so that it didn't over flow. It was so good I am going to make the exact same pie for Thanksgiving. My picky 9 year old even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Mattson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Our family has always preferred the custard pumpkin pie vs. the regular pie. It has a very mild flavor with a nice creamy texture. We made it exactly like the recipe called for - it turned out perfect. Make sure to let it come to room temperature before slicing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
It tasted pretty much like regular pumpkin pie to me. I was hoping it'd be nice and light and fluffy, but it wasn't. Maybe I didn't cook it on the stovetop long enough, but I cooked it for a good 10 minutes. I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is a very light and tasty pumpkin pie-a big hit with my family at Thanksgiving. In place of the milk, though, I used eggnog, which gave it an extra nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this for Thanskgiving dinner and everyone loved it. It was silky and smooth and just yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Castleton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Wow! This was good! I even forgot the sugar the first time and it tasted fine anyway. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Pumpkin pie is my favorite, and the one made from this recipe is the best I've ever had. I replace half of the cinammon with "pumpkin pie spice" ... I've always done that and I have no idea if it's better or worse that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States