Pumpkin Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
So delicious. This is the only pumpkin pie I make and everyone who tries it LOVES it. i get so many compliments. I follow the recipe exactly except that I use the large Keebler Ready Graham Cracker Crust (with 2 extra servings) and I bake it for about 45-50 minutes. I don't find that the pie is too watery but this may be because I cook it for almost double the time suggested in the recipe. It's possible that the other reviewers who found the pie didnt set didnt bake it long enough. And for the reviewers who said they omit the milk so it didnt overflow, buy the larger crust (like the one I use) and you'll have no problems. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Loved by everyone but I used pumpkin pie spice and 1 1/2 cups of heavy whipping cream instead of cream +milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anny Ray Raines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I will never make another pumpkin pie ever again. This was so good! I took another reviewer's advice and only added 1/4 cup of milk, and I still had a little extra filling. Honestly, I'm not sure it needs it at all. I did add a few drops of vanilla, 'cause why not, and just because my husband isn't wild about ginger, I only did 1/4 tsp of ginger and added one 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to keep the measurements accurate. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I tried this for fun to use up leftover pumpkin puree from another recipe. Followed the recipe exactly, it set beautifully and tastes amzazing. I ditched my old recipe (the one on the can;) and this is our permanent family favorite. My husband would be so upset if I didn't make it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debra C
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe......followed it just as specified. FYI though...there is no way this pie will cook in 25-30 minutes at 400 degrees. We pulled it out at 30 minutes, and the custard wasn't close to being set and the crust hadn't evens started browning. We let it go cook for another 20 minutes ( 50 minutes total cook time) and it was perfect. Used a pie crust cover for first 30 minutes and took it off for last 20 and it came out gorgeous. Completely set in the middle and it had turned a dark golden copper color.....and was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made quite a few adjustments to this recipe. First, I didn't make it into a pie, I just made little custards. This recipe (one 15-oz. can of pumpkin puree) perfectly filled 4 little ramekins. I used a bain-marie (set the custards in a roaster and then poured 1 or 2 inches of water in the roaster). I used 3/4 c dark brown sugar instead of white, and it made the flavor HEAVENLY! I only used 1/4 cup milk because I see some folks had trouble with the batter being too thin. It was probably alright for me to use the entire 1/2 cup of milk because I really let the pumpkin get BONE DRY in the saucepan. This took a lot longer than 10 minutes. Maybe some pumpkin purees are more moist than others, and that's where the trouble is. Make sure your puree is really *really* dry. Mine easily clumped into a big ball in the pan before I called it done. I didn't have ginger so I subbed some pumpkin pie spice to go with the cinnamon that I did have. Other than that, the custards were wonderful, and they were even better the day after. I'll definitely save this one. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
About to try this recipe. Reading Barb72's comments, I'll separate the eggs, whip the whites, and then fold in. Perhaps that will lighten things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This pie certainly was delicious, and I chose it because I was looking for one without evaporated or condensed milk. I baked it 5 minutes longer than it said because it didn't look quite 'done' and even when it cooled it wasn't done. Became quite a soupy mess. Not sure if that had something to do with the 'cooking the pumpkin' step or what. I couldn't get mine to look caramelized, though I cooked it quite a while on the stove top. Will try again when I have heavy cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I ommitted the 1/2 cup milk. I cooked it for much longer than called for, until the centre was fairly firm. And it was GREAT! Most of the pie was firm, but the very centre just barely holds its shape when cut (almost like thick pudding). If you like your pie with lots of pumpkin flavour, lots of creaminess, and a soft texture, this is a perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This recipe made a very smooth, creamy custard filling for my holiday pie. The spices weren't quite strong enough for me but that was easy to fix; I tasted the filling before adding the eggs and increased the spices, adding nutmeg and cloves, until the flavor was perfect. I liked the advice about chilling the crust, which kept the crust from burning while the filling set, and drying the pumpkin over heat kept the filling from being too wet. The final result got high praise from some VERY picky pumpkin pie eaters! This will definitely be my only pumpkin pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States