Pumpkin Curry with Lentils and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Delicious! It did take quite a bit longer to prepare the dish than I expected, but I work slowly. It was well worth the time in the end and the left-overs are great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Fantastic, I think if I made it exactly per instructions it would be *****+! I had lots of fresh pumpkin and was able to make this from mostly what I had in my cabinets and fridge--didn't have some of the ingredients but substituted courgette for the carrot, cinnamon for the cloves, and I didn't have curry powder (I upped the cumin). I cut down on the time needed by baking the pumpkin, pre-cooking the potatoes, using tinned lentils, using canned tomatoes instead of fresh, and frozen, thawed and drained spinach. Next time I'll be sure to have all of the correct ingredients. This is great with brown rice. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Fantastic!This coming from a person who cooks lentils every day without fail! I had no idea one cud put all this in lentils:)) and it wud taste so good! And yes, I saute'd the onions, garlic and tomatoes in the pressure cooker, added the rest of the stuff (less water) and two whistles! I was done in 20 minutes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was great! I followed some of the other reviewers' suggestions and cooked only 1 cup of lentils with the veggies (only used 5 cups of veggie broth) and served over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was fabulous!! Def. takes some prep time and is not a quick meal but woah is it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
We loved this recipe. It was the tastiest way to eat lentils I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindakaye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe was really hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Quite yummy and easy to make. I added zucchini but followed everything else exactly. A great vegetable curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin - and it worked perfectly. The flavors worked very well together. I wish I had read the reviews ahead of time and used more turmeric in the lentils - because they were a bit bland. But adding a bit of salt helped. Oh, and this dish just got better and better after a few days in the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I bought a sugar pumpkin at the store today and could not wait to use it in something! I came across your soup recipe, and I started to cook it before checking that I had all of the ingredients... I was amazed at how well it turned out anyways!! I had no lentils on hand (which is rare!), so I used a combination of small red beans and also great northern beans. I also didn't have any stock, and instead of the tomatoes and broth, I used a large can of tomato puree. I also completely forgot to add the spinach, but it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States