Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is one of my son's favorite desserts. It is so easy to put together and tastes wonderful. I make half the pan with the pecans and the other half without the pecans. I keep cans of pumpkin on-hand to make this treat throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great recipe. As per other reviews I reduced the number of eggs to 3, made my own pumpkin spice mix with cinnamon, ginger, fresh nutmeg and cloves and used a large 30 oz. can of pumpkin. I also toasted the pecans before I combined them with the cake mix and butter and added some light brown sugar. Next time I may even reduce the amount of butter. Too much makes it more like batter and not a crumble topping. Top the cool whip with salted Carmel sauce, serve the cake cold (holds together better) and you have a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Made the cake yesterday delicious. Took the cake to work and was devoured. Will make again. The only thing I omitted I didn't have any pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This is delicious!!! I did stir the cake mix into the pumpkin mixture a bit to moisten it up, then poured the melted butter on top. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Awesome! Got rave reviews. Cooked 1:20
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a hit! The only changes I made based on other reviews, were to use 1/2C white sugar and 1/2C brown sugar in place of the 1 1/2C white sugar the recipe called for. I also used a sugar-free yellow cake mix. I patted the cake mix down until the pumpkin mixture ALMOST started to peak through. I sprinkled pecan pieces over that and then covered the whole thing with the melted butter. The trick is to make sure the cake mix is patted down really well and the whole thing is covered completely with the melted butter. I covered with foil for 55 minutes, then removed the foil and baked for another 15 minutes, checking for doneness every five minutes or so. My husband and I are both bariatric patients so I am always looking for recipes that I can make with lower sugar. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
A Thanksgiving hit! Only changes I made was not using all the cake mix (probably used 2/3) and using real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is our favorite dessert not only for Thanksgiving, but "just beacuase it's fall!" My husband has me make this for his birthday cake every November. It is so easy to make and it gives just a little extra to a plain, old pumpkin pie. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have been making this cake for Thanksgiving & Xmas for years. It is so so good with whip cream or vanilla ice cream. Just finished baking 2 of them for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and while it is good, I felt there were way too many pecans on top. It tasted a bit salty and like something was missing. My husband suggested a cream cheese frosting instead of whipped cream. It made a world of difference! Next time - less pecans and add the cream cheese frosting! (made with 8oz cream cheese 1/4 c butter - tsp vanilla - mix together till soft and blended - add 1/2c to 1 cup (to taste) confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States