Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This is delicious!!! I did stir the cake mix into the pumpkin mixture a bit to moisten it up, then poured the melted butter on top. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Awesome! Got rave reviews. Cooked 1:20
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a hit! The only changes I made based on other reviews, were to use 1/2C white sugar and 1/2C brown sugar in place of the 1 1/2C white sugar the recipe called for. I also used a sugar-free yellow cake mix. I patted the cake mix down until the pumpkin mixture ALMOST started to peak through. I sprinkled pecan pieces over that and then covered the whole thing with the melted butter. The trick is to make sure the cake mix is patted down really well and the whole thing is covered completely with the melted butter. I covered with foil for 55 minutes, then removed the foil and baked for another 15 minutes, checking for doneness every five minutes or so. My husband and I are both bariatric patients so I am always looking for recipes that I can make with lower sugar. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
A Thanksgiving hit! Only changes I made was not using all the cake mix (probably used 2/3) and using real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is our favorite dessert not only for Thanksgiving, but "just beacuase it's fall!" My husband has me make this for his birthday cake every November. It is so easy to make and it gives just a little extra to a plain, old pumpkin pie. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have been making this cake for Thanksgiving & Xmas for years. It is so so good with whip cream or vanilla ice cream. Just finished baking 2 of them for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and while it is good, I felt there were way too many pecans on top. It tasted a bit salty and like something was missing. My husband suggested a cream cheese frosting instead of whipped cream. It made a world of difference! Next time - less pecans and add the cream cheese frosting! (made with 8oz cream cheese 1/4 c butter - tsp vanilla - mix together till soft and blended - add 1/2c to 1 cup (to taste) confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
i love making this!! it has turned pumpkin haters into pumpkin lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMMAJAMMA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
i used half a teaspoon salt and i spread the melted butter and some of the pumpkin into the cake mix taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyG

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Dunn, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Wow, this is an easy & yummy cake! Made this over 5 times and it's my "go to cake" for parties, desserts for home & cheap gifts! Got nice remarks from last potluck @ work. I omitted nuts cause of allergies-still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wailuku, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States