Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Sorry but I'll have to be in the minority here and rate it low. I made it to the T and baked for 1 hr. exactly. There are so many eggs in this that the pumpkin part had the texture of pumpkin scrambled eggs and was a bit watery. Not smooth and creamy at all and would NOT be a good substitute for a good pumpkin pie. The cake topping was dry and too thick. I say 2/3 a box would have been fine. And this cake was tooth aching sweet. 1 cup sugar would've been plenty, especially since the cake mix is already too sweet. 1 hr. gave me a very brown cake topping, on the verge of dark brown at the corners. I'd say reduce this to 3 eggs at most, use 2/3 of cake mix and reduce the sugar! But for me, I will not be making this again. Definitely had 'from the box' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This absolutely is a favorite dessert of our family. I use my own homemade pumpkin pie spice, add a pinch of salt instead of a whole teaspoon and butter instead of margerine. Excellent as is but over the top yummy with whipped topping or french vanilla ice cream. This dosen't last any longer than past dessert at family gatherings--two days if I've made it for the four of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I remember making this recipe way back when this site was Thanksgivingrecipe.com but I never had a chance to evaluate until now. It’s an easy recipe with delicious and rich results! For the pumpkin puree, I used one whole 30 ounce can, more than 2 cups. I patted down a whole 18.25 oz. box of yellow cake mix over the top of the pumpkin mixture. I used all butter instead of margarine thou I didn’t think that there was enough to cover the pecans and cake mix. I just loved the sweet smell of pecans, pumpkin and butter filling up my house- oh my goodness! I noticed in 55 minutes baking time that the edges were turning dark brown so I covered the entire cake with foil and let it finish baking. The cake was done in one hour and 15 minutes. I let cool it for a while before putting it in the fridge to set. I made a whipped topping, “Whipped Cream,” also from this site, and dolloped it on the cake. The pumpkin filling was very good, moist, spiced just right and tasty. The crumb topping (pecans and cake mix) had a nice crunch and was buttery and sweet. I do think that it was a bit too heavy on the butter, sugar and cake mix for my tastes. Next time I may just cut back on the amount of cake mix, butter and sugar. However, this was a huge hit with my family; and hubs and his coworkers devoured it-happily wiping it out in mere minutes. All I heard was, "Mmm..MMmm." Considering that I had to give this a 5 stars- turned out good for a “cake mix”.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this for my book club meeting and was asked to share the recipe. I did use unsalted butter instead of margarine and whipped cream instead of frozen whipped topping. I will definitely keep this as a favorite for the Fall season and Thanksgiving holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was great. Only used 3/4c of sugar and it was plenty sweet for our taste, only half the box of cake mix and I really think anymore would have been way too much, and about 1/3c of butter instead of 1c once it was cooked the butter had spread over the surface so there weren't any dry cake mix spots that some other reviewers have noted. Thanks for a new fall treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe is super easy and is a good, quick fall dessert. I am basing my star rating on whether I would serve this on Thanksgiving or not. I too think the recipe calls for too much cake mix. I found mounds of dusty cake mix after it came out of the oven. So that someone wouldnt take a bite and choke themselves, I solved the problem by melting Kraft caramel squares and drizziling on top. Overall, the cake was a hit for Sunday dinner. I would make it again for small family dinners but not for my big Thanksgiving "to impress" dessert. One last note: I felt it was best at room temp or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
MMM.....This is so good!!! We have been making it for like forever. It's perfect with a big dallop of cool whip and lots of drizzled caramel. The only thing we do different is to use cinnamon vs. pumpkin pie spice, and use 3 large eggs. Yummy,yummy,yummy!!! It's so easy to assemble and so, so good. Perfect for potlucks and family gatherings. Thanks for posting!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was a hit at our family dinner. It was easy to make. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
love it, so simple, so tasty...i only use cinnamon and lots of it but that's a preference thing...i also used two sticks of butter cut into the cake mix rather than melted and poured over top...perfecto...will make again and again, way better than pumpkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I thought this was easy to make and pretty good. I didn't have pumpkin so I used sweet potatoes which were a good substitute. My husband loved this a lot more than I did. I give this four stars because I enjoy the classic pumpkin pie better, but the topping on this dessert is nice for a twist on old classic. I am not sure that I like it enough to make it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States