Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great recipe! I made it pretty much as written except I used walnuts instead of pecans and I made my own pumpkin spice mix instead of buying a jar from the grocery store. I served for friends and family and it was a huge hit. I even overcooked it so the top was slightly burned. So I had to scrape that off, but still, no complaints here! Next time I'll cook it for 1:10 instead of 1:20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I love pumpkin, but I was not thrilled with this cake. I cut back the sugar to 1 cup but it was still overly sweet. It was easy to put together but the taste was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was a hit with our Thanksgiving crowd! It was ridiculously easy and quick to make. My only suggestion would be to use freshly ground cloves and cinnamon in place of the pumpkin pie spice; you could barely tell the spice was there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe, but I tweaked it a bit. As suggested by another reviewer, I used pumpkin pie filling instead of pumpkin puree. I used 3 eggs, 1/4 cup of evap milk, and omitted the sugar. As I was using a spring form pan, I felt this would need a crust of some sort, so I mixed the box of cake mix with 1/3 cup melted butter. I then used half this mixture to create a crust, which I baked blind at 350F for about 10 minutes, until it began to brown. I then added the pumpkin mixture, and over this the remaining cake/butter mixture. I left the pecans out until the last 20 minutes of baking to prevent them from burning. I baked the cake for 80 minutes at 350. Note: if you use a spring form pan, with the bottom crust as I did, I suggest placing a foil lined baking sheet underneath it during baking. Some melted butter melted out of the seam of my pan, and could have been a messy cleanup if I didn't have the baking sheet there. The finished cake was served with vanilla ice cream. I will be making this again. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I brought it into the office, and it received rave reviews from everyone. for a richer, creamier flavor, I used cream cheese frosting instead of the frozen whipped topping. Additionally, my cake took considerably less cooking time than the recipe indicates. Suggestion: watch carefully so you do not overbake it! I will definitely keep this recipe close at hand for holiday gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Way too runny, had to cook almost two hours covered so as not to burn the nuts. 2 cans of 15 oz. pumpkin puree is needed!!!! I found another recipe online that is exactly the same as this one but with 29 oz. can pumpkin puree. That seems right. Used unsalted butter because I don't like margarine. I will try this recipe again with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caribou, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This recipe was delicious! It came out perfectly, and everyone LOVED it, I will definitely be making this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Great recipe. However, my southern taste buds prefer sweet potatoes. So, I tried this with a large can of sweet potatoes and it was to die for. I blended the sweet potatoes with a hand mixer. Worked mar-vah-los-ly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Tis is a HUGE favorite in my home !!! I call it my "Dumpkin Cake". I just made it to take to Amish families home for a dinner we were invited to- Hope they like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States