Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I made this for an office party and it got rave reviews. However, when I make it again for Christmas, I will cut the cake mix in half. The crumb top was so thick it had to be eaten upside down to get through it. Also, I will use unsalted butter. Instead of whipped topping, I melted a can of cream cheese frosting in the microwave and drizzled it over the finished cake. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWARGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
WOW !!! I made this cake at Thanksgiving dinner at my in-laws and it was such a success I think this may be my staple contribution each year. I took someone's suggestion on toasting the pecans in butter before adding it to the cake and instead of margarine, I used unsalted butter (since one person said the cake was somewhat salty). Instead of using whipped cream - I made crumb cake crumbs and baked them on during the last 15 minutes of baking (to make crumbs: use 2 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tsp vanilla, 2 tsp cinnamon 1 1/2 stick unsalted butter melted - I mixed them all together with my hands and put them on top of the pecan/pumpkin/cake mixture). The crumbs, buttery pecans, cake mix & pumpkin mixture was so unbelievable (although filling) everyone raved about it !!!! I think next year though I will cut back on the sugar and butter as it is such a sweet cake and rich cake having one sliver is almost too much to eat and there's no room for other desserts ! Thank you for this superb recipe !!! YUMMMM !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Awesome! Very nice fall dessert. I even adjusted it a bit and it was still marvelous. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and decreased the butter to 1/2 cup. I mixed 1/3 cup of flaxseed meal into the cake mix to make up for the missing butter--a sneaky way to make up some much needed omega-3s. Everyone loved this dessert, even my 5 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Excellent dessert. Very tasty. I love pumpkin and this one is definitely a keeper! It is best served warm with real whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This absolutely is a favorite dessert of our family. I use my own homemade pumpkin pie spice, add a pinch of salt instead of a whole teaspoon and butter instead of margerine. Excellent as is but over the top yummy with whipped topping or french vanilla ice cream. This dosen't last any longer than past dessert at family gatherings--two days if I've made it for the four of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe is WONDERFUL!! I am not a big pumpkin pie fan, but this is great! Make sure you cook it long enough, so the pumpkin layer sets up and the top layer gets cooked through so it has some "crunch" (I baked mine in a Pampered Chef 9x13 stoneware baker for 70 minutes: perfect!) The pecans are a MUST, they add a needed taste! I have made this for the last 3 years for Thanksgiving and Christmas, rather than pie. It's much easier, and much better than plain old pumpkin pie. I always have people asking for the recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly McNamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
this one is "gooder than good"! i would recommend chilling it before serving...i am not a fan of hot pumpkin. and make sure you gently press the cake mix and nuts into the pumpkin mixture; the result will be a small layer of pie-like filling on the bottom and crunchy goodness on top! thanks for a GREAt recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanelle#5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Tip: It doesn't mention in the recipe, but I line the pan with parchment paper (greased and floured), and when the dessert is baked and cooled, lift and turn it over onto a serving platter so that the crumb mixture becomes the crust and the pumpkin is on top. The paper should peel off smoothly. For the topping, mix one tub of whipped topping, one block cream cheese (room temp.), and 1/2 cup powdered sugar until smooth. Spread over top of dessert. I also only use 3 eggs instead of 4 for the pumpkin mixture, 1 cup sugar, and toast the pecans. I hope this is helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Way too runny, had to cook almost two hours covered so as not to burn the nuts. 2 cans of 15 oz. pumpkin puree is needed!!!! I found another recipe online that is exactly the same as this one but with 29 oz. can pumpkin puree. That seems right. Used unsalted butter because I don't like margarine. I will try this recipe again with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caribou, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Its time for the fall line-up of desserts! This one will be on our fav list. We served it warm with a dollop of vanilla ice cream. For more flavor, be sure to toast your pecans. Thanks for a great pumpkin pie alternative, Nora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States