Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this recipe and have made it for years. I have made a short cut. I use Pumpkin Pie Mix and just add the wet ingredients: eggs, evaporated milk, instead then follow rest of recipe. Turns out great, I carry copy of recipe every time I share it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is the best idea if you hate soggy piecrust! The crust is on the top and stays CRUNCHY! But the recipe needed tweaked...for this size pan you need the LARGE CAN of pumpkin, and since the cake mix has sugar...use ONLY 1 CUP sugar, and NO SALT needed. And reduce eggs to 3. I also use my own pumpkin pie spice mix. Pecans are a nice touch. I have also halved the recipe in a square pan and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I learned this in my foods class in high school. It has been a hit every thanksgiving ever since. I use walnuts instead of pecans, but they're both great. This year I will make some alterations to the ingredients to try and stay on the healthy side--at least a tad bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was so addictive. I had this at a Baby Shower today and everyone, and I mean everyone, was raving about it. The sweet (but not too sweet) and salty crunch is a great combo. I will be adding this to my Thanksgiving dessert table for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this the day before and was worried how it would taste cold - it wasn't the prettiest creation ever, either - but it was out of this world yummy! Very popular and most of the family went back for seconds. Made as directed, but would like to try the 1/2 brown sugar as recommended by other reviewers. Served with Cool Whip. I think other cake mixes like Butter Pecan, Spice and maybe even Carrot would be equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADONIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delicious! Company loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I had great hopes for this in being a creative alternative to a traditional pumpkin pie. It just didn't work for me. The cake mix poured on top with all the butter just turned into a thick, sweet paste. I followed the recipe, it could be a matter of taste, but thought it was incredibly rich with an odd consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I think this is a NO fail cake! I have made it several times and its always good. last time I made it I could not believe that it called for a cup of butter which is two sticks. I had only been using one with great success..also just used half the cake mix per others and also cut the sugar to one cup using 1/2 brown 1/2 white....good to bake it a little longer to set. best when eaten cold! YUM O ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Dearolf Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is very good! I used a large can of pumpkin because that's what i had. I also used real butter. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I love this recipe and have made it several times. Some small changes I made are to use pecan cake mix instead of yellow, and I added a gingersnap crust on the bottom to make it easier to hold and eat. Additionally, I added butterscotch chips on top with the pecans! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States