Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Great recipe. However, my southern taste buds prefer sweet potatoes. So, I tried this with a large can of sweet potatoes and it was to die for. I blended the sweet potatoes with a hand mixer. Worked mar-vah-los-ly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Tis is a HUGE favorite in my home !!! I call it my "Dumpkin Cake". I just made it to take to Amish families home for a dinner we were invited to- Hope they like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I love this dump cake! I've been making it since I was 18. Instead of using pumpkin puree and pumpkin spices separately, I use the canned pumpkin pie mix. It's a nice change to pumpkin pie, everyone expects this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenofSuburbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I love this cake. I make it at Thanksgiving instead of pumpkin pie. Love pumpkin pie but love this more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this for my family and everyone raved on how good it was!! I made as directed but I baked it in a spring form pan and the presentation is gorgous!! Will definatly make this again. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I hate pumpkin pie, can't stand it - but this cake is AWESOME!! I have officially declared I will never made another pumpkin pie but will make this from here on out. I didn't use this recipe but used one out of a Betty Crocker Cookbook - everything was the same except the cookbook called for Betty Crocker brand Golden Vanilla cake mix. I highly recommend anyone trying this recipe for the first time use this cake mix instead of plain yellow cake mix as the Golden Vanilla has a wonderful vanilla flavor that I think will take an already exceptional recipe and take it out of this world. Friends have asked me to make another one but use sweet potato instead of pumpkin. Another friend suggest drizzling the Smuckers Caramel ice cream topping on top with whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
My husband could not stop talking about this cake...he absotlutely loved it...and he is not much of a cake eater. Once he let other people try it, it was all the rave. It's a keep in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Not sure what I did wrong. I was unsure of the 'sprinkle cake mix and pat down'. I wish I would have mixed the cake mix in thoroughly as the cake came out soggy on the bottom. I only used 1/2 cup margarine too, I can't imagine what 1 cup would have tasted like. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Very simple recipe that gets rave reviews from everyone I have served it to! I am asked for the recipe every time. It may seem like the 1c melted butter is a lot - but it makes it taste sinfully good! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Considering I'm not much of a baker, this was very well received at Thanksgiving dinner! So easy to make, too. Next time, I would not use the entire box of yellow cake mix (maybe 3/4rds). Mine only took 60 minutes in the oven - - any longer and make sure that your pecans do not burn. What a nice change from the same old pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States