Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe, but I tweaked it a bit. As suggested by another reviewer, I used pumpkin pie filling instead of pumpkin puree. I used 3 eggs, 1/4 cup of evap milk, and omitted the sugar. As I was using a spring form pan, I felt this would need a crust of some sort, so I mixed the box of cake mix with 1/3 cup melted butter. I then used half this mixture to create a crust, which I baked blind at 350F for about 10 minutes, until it began to brown. I then added the pumpkin mixture, and over this the remaining cake/butter mixture. I left the pecans out until the last 20 minutes of baking to prevent them from burning. I baked the cake for 80 minutes at 350. Note: if you use a spring form pan, with the bottom crust as I did, I suggest placing a foil lined baking sheet underneath it during baking. Some melted butter melted out of the seam of my pan, and could have been a messy cleanup if I didn't have the baking sheet there. The finished cake was served with vanilla ice cream. I will be making this again. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I brought it into the office, and it received rave reviews from everyone. for a richer, creamier flavor, I used cream cheese frosting instead of the frozen whipped topping. Additionally, my cake took considerably less cooking time than the recipe indicates. Suggestion: watch carefully so you do not overbake it! I will definitely keep this recipe close at hand for holiday gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Way too runny, had to cook almost two hours covered so as not to burn the nuts. 2 cans of 15 oz. pumpkin puree is needed!!!! I found another recipe online that is exactly the same as this one but with 29 oz. can pumpkin puree. That seems right. Used unsalted butter because I don't like margarine. I will try this recipe again with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caribou, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This recipe was delicious! It came out perfectly, and everyone LOVED it, I will definitely be making this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Great recipe. However, my southern taste buds prefer sweet potatoes. So, I tried this with a large can of sweet potatoes and it was to die for. I blended the sweet potatoes with a hand mixer. Worked mar-vah-los-ly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Tis is a HUGE favorite in my home !!! I call it my "Dumpkin Cake". I just made it to take to Amish families home for a dinner we were invited to- Hope they like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I love this dump cake! I've been making it since I was 18. Instead of using pumpkin puree and pumpkin spices separately, I use the canned pumpkin pie mix. It's a nice change to pumpkin pie, everyone expects this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenofSuburbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I love this cake. I make it at Thanksgiving instead of pumpkin pie. Love pumpkin pie but love this more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this for my family and everyone raved on how good it was!! I made as directed but I baked it in a spring form pan and the presentation is gorgous!! Will definatly make this again. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I hate pumpkin pie, can't stand it - but this cake is AWESOME!! I have officially declared I will never made another pumpkin pie but will make this from here on out. I didn't use this recipe but used one out of a Betty Crocker Cookbook - everything was the same except the cookbook called for Betty Crocker brand Golden Vanilla cake mix. I highly recommend anyone trying this recipe for the first time use this cake mix instead of plain yellow cake mix as the Golden Vanilla has a wonderful vanilla flavor that I think will take an already exceptional recipe and take it out of this world. Friends have asked me to make another one but use sweet potato instead of pumpkin. Another friend suggest drizzling the Smuckers Caramel ice cream topping on top with whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States