Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I am sorry, but my family and I HATED this recipe. It was so sugary sweet that it actually made us feel sick to eat it. Also, I was expecting something more cake like, but instead it was was like an over the top pumpkin pie. I won't be having seconds, and I will never make this again. I am extremely disappointed & truly don't understand why this recipe got such good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Great tasting cake,but would have to really experiment with cooking time, my pumpkin layer didn't set properly after 80 minutes. Will definitely try again because of the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
this cake was a big hit at a dinner party! excellent and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This one has been a favorite for a couple of years now - we absolutely love it!! I substitute 1/2 c of the white sugar for brown -- we like the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
EXCELLENT! DIDN'T HAVE PECANS SO I SUBSTITUTED HEATH TOFFEE BITS, EVEN BETTER! MINE ONLY TOOK 60 MIN. TO COOK AND I FOLLOWED THE RECIPES EXACTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLeon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This cake is so good! This will definitely be on my Thanksgiving table this year, in place of plain 'ole pumpkin pie! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great recipe! I made it pretty much as written except I used walnuts instead of pecans and I made my own pumpkin spice mix instead of buying a jar from the grocery store. I served for friends and family and it was a huge hit. I even overcooked it so the top was slightly burned. So I had to scrape that off, but still, no complaints here! Next time I'll cook it for 1:10 instead of 1:20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I love pumpkin, but I was not thrilled with this cake. I cut back the sugar to 1 cup but it was still overly sweet. It was easy to put together but the taste was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was a hit with our Thanksgiving crowd! It was ridiculously easy and quick to make. My only suggestion would be to use freshly ground cloves and cinnamon in place of the pumpkin pie spice; you could barely tell the spice was there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States